Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Potterville Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 359 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

Potterville Elementary is organized, have a smaller classroom student teacher ratio. They are making strides to improve technology, programs and classroom activities. They have been adding many new activities that involve the students. They are members of the Michigan Green Schools and are enacting new sustainability projects to teach the children about nature, watersheds and recycling. They have a security policy on visitors. They have the Honeywell Alert System for school closings, fundraisers, etc. They use the online scheduling for conferences, promote their website for communications. They also have many fundraisers that do not just "sell" stuff. Like Target Giveaways, Box Top Contests and Labels for Education. One improvement that MUST happen is the way children are dropped off and picked up. There is no sidewalk from the parking lot to the front doors and it has been very dangerous. Way to congested and the high schoolers are parking in the lot. There isn't a sidewalk near the entrance to walk to the office if you get there late. But this school is well managed, superior for its size and the principal is very active & open to new ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Staff is wonderful but principal is in la la land and doesn't care at all about the students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2012

This school has had some turnover the last year in administration, but I STILL love the staff and think they are top notch. There is an amazing PTA at this school. My kids have been challenged and they are above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

The whole atmosphere is chaotic due to the lack of leadership from the superintendent. Many students are not pushed to their fullest potential and mediocre work is acceptable. They tend to focus on disciplining the good children and ignoring the problem children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The teachers and staff demonstrate daily how much they value children.


Posted September 11, 2009

My daughter started the elementary in first grade. Her teacher, Ms. C , was amazing. She really pushed my daughter to strive for higher levels. My child left 1st grade reading at a third grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

My daughter is currently a fifth grader at Potterville Elementary, so I cannot speak for the middle or high schools. However, I can say that the Elementary school is fantastic. The current administration is top-notch and all of her teachers have been well above average. I have nieces and nephews that attend some of the larger schools in the county and I believe Potterville to be the absolute best due to their small size and hands-on approach. The Elementary principal seems to know the name of each child and is seemingly always friendly and willing to discuss any parent questions and concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

I have 3 children in grades k,1,3, all the teachers here are great, my kids love school, and the academics here are great, they taught my kids how to be leaders, and never have been bullied, I get involved in there school performances as often as i can, they have great parent involvement, and the volunteers are always nice. I think that all schools should have more physical education involved in all schools but what programs they do have are really on top of everything.. thanks to all the teachers, you all are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

There is'nt much (anything)for gifted and talented kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

I have been impressed with this school. I have never had a negative interaction with any teacher. Any problems my children have had in the past, (bullying, adapting to new classrooms and teachers, peer conflicts) each teacher has went out of his/her way to help resolve the conflict/problem. There are many parents involved, myself included. Academically my children have excelled. Problems I have noticed are with children that have parents uninvolved with their academics. I believe teaching children is a joint effort involving teacher and parents working hand in hand. Extracurricular activities are not huge (it's a small school). However, the activites and programs at the elementary level are geared toward family. I think it's awesome that Christmas is not a taboo subject like in other area schools. I have not notice any of the cliques mentioned in other reviews. I have only witnessed acceptance of any willing to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

From personal experience I've seen many parents involved at this level. I will say you better hope your child is excepted within the 'in' crowd and not bullied. Bullies are tollerated both by the school and by the parents of these children. I see a high level of children unable to read at their grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2003

This is a small town school and everything that emplies. Teachers that need to be on leave or fired are retained and the grade school principals follow thru on complaints is non-existant. The elementary football team coaches have been known to get into physical altercations at games and to swear at the children.(the coaches don't work for the school) Many of the other teachers are very qualified and care about the children and education. It isn't all horrible. Are all small schools like this?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kevin Dufresne
Fax number
  • (517) 645-0256

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

426 North High St
Potterville, MI 48876
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 645-2525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Meadowview School
Charlotte, MI


Strange School
Grand Ledge, MI



Christian Summit Academy
Eaton Rapids, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT