Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lee M. Thurston High School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are very caring and every teacher has tutoring hours after school for extra help in classes. Lots of AP classes and college prep stuff.

Lee M. Thurston High School 3

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
In the last four years that my son attended the school has seen "transitional periods". The school met my son's needs but did not offer much in the way of challenge. If the parent is involved then the most of the school staff is open to communication. There are some that don't wish to be bothered but that is found everywhere.


Lee M. Thurston High School 3

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children that have attended THS, one of them still is and does ok there and likes it. The other had ADD and THS was not able to help us with that issue in a timely manner while her grades and self esteem were dropping, so I pulled her out. She is a respectful, sweet girl but was being treated like a delinquent due to her grades dropping and it literally made her physically ill. I'm not saying it's a bad school, but they either weren't capable or didn't attempt to help us even though the state says they must.

Lee M. Thurston High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
This is my sons first year at the school and so far I am pleased. Staff really shows they care.

Lee M. Thurston High School 5

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
Thurston High is a very good school. The teachers are very well educated they teach strong material. The principal leadership is very good they keep you on top of everything that is going on in the school. The academic programs are wonderful


Lee M. Thurston High School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
I have a 10th grader at THS...Thurston is a very good high school that keeps you informed about everything that's going on. I love the parent connect which helps me keep up with grades. The teachers that I have encounter last year and this year, are very concerned with my childs education. I am very impressed with all the honors classes that are offered...

Lee M. Thurston High School
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a community member
Because my granddaughter attends school there. They have a brand new auditorium for school plays and other school events. Their choral group is great.

Lee M. Thurston High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This is our 1st experience in a public school , my daughter has been in a private school since Kindergarden . So far all has been great , Thurston has a wonderful caring staff , lots of great classes & programs . Also they has a new auditorium thats soooo nice & state of the art . Their media program has a awsome teacher & their media studio is the same as CSN . My child is doing great & happier than she ever has been in school


Lee M. Thurston High School 4

Posted April 27, 2009
- a student
I am a student at ths and i believe our school & district strives to achieve more than any other school i have attended.. The staff as well as principal and authorities appreciate as well as genuinely care for students ant their well being. It has great college prep classes & not to mention an amazing music program! go band! i believe they do the best they possibly can in the current economical slump.

Lee M. Thurston High School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a student
I am a Thurston Alumni and I loved it. the teachers are great and all of the students got along. At any high school there will be problems, but it is all what you make of it individually.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lee M. Thurston High School
26255 Schoolcraft Avenue, Redford Charter Township, MI  48239
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (313) 242-0600
Last modified Lee M. Thurston High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top