Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hilbert Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 656 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

Im new to hilbert and im going to the 6th grade all of the 6th graders that i met were realy nice and i think im going to like this new school alot i went to beech elementary for 2 years and tht school was pretty cool i liked but i like this better i meet the princapal she was niceand they have a nice snack bar so i recommend u all to go there this is coming from a 6th grader at hilbert


Posted December 17, 2010

Well, This will be my 3rd year attending Hilbert Middle School. Well, I hate Hilbert because of the kids in there... But thats not the point.. It is a very good school, Nice teachers, nice principal, vice principal. and more. So i do recommend you go to HILBERT MIDDLE SCHOOL!!! and this is coming from an 8th grade student who go's there(:


Posted April 11, 2010

My son has attended Hilbert for 2 years now. Hilbert has been a God send to us. My son struggled all thru his academia while in DPS. When we came to Hilbert, they took him, tested him and placed him in a cirriculum where he could learn effectively and now he is an A & B student, prominent band member and all around good student. I am forever grateful to them. If I had to point out an issue, it would only be my son has had to deal with small amounts of racism from students, but that has nothing to do with the school, but the parents and their lack of diversity. Overall, Hilbert is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

I am a student at Hilbert Middle school, I came to Hilbert in late November. I think that it is very impressive on what they teach. The Cores are great and the electives are awesome. I am learning a ton and this is only the beginning of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

I am a student a hilbert middle school, and it is my first year here, so far it is a pretty good school. But i think they can shape up the canteen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

I use to attend Hilbert Middle School, so I feel that I am a bit more able to give the student's point of view rather than a parent. No offense. Hilbert was a place where students either paid attention or they did not, however it was their choice. The teachers put a lot into their work with the students, but there is only so much that they can actually do. A child is in the school for eight hours of the day, it is up to the parent to help them with all that they need help with. The work is challenging, but with the way that the world has advanced lately, so what! We need to educate students to be even better and starting different areas of study at a younger age if we ever expect them to prosper.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

I have two children who attend Hilbert. The teachers go beyond the call of their duties! I can't say enough of what our teachers do for our children! Children must learn to respect their teachers at all times!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

My child is in 7th grade, and if it were possible, I'd pull him out of this school today. While I do not blame all of the teachers, there seems to be a prevailing attitude that 'I've explained the lesson, now it's your problem' among many of them. Questions are discouraged (or even punished at times). I log into the website on a weekly basis to make sure my child is keeping up with his assignments, and while he misses one every once in awhile, his test scores appear to be average to above average. So, if his assignments are turned in and his scores are in the 80-90 % range, why does he receive a failing grade on his report card? Negligence? Typo? Just plain stupidity? You tell me. The system isn't working however you look at it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I have 2 sons, one of which just graduated from RUHS, the other will be entering 7th grade. I feel Hilbert has made great advancement over the last few years. The parents that are on here complaining about the teachers may wish to look in a mirror. Education can not succeed without you, the parent, being involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

My child goes to Hilbert and he has homework that is unbeilivabley hard. He is in the sixth grade and he has problems with square roots he states 'They pretty much give you the work and tell you to do it without telling us what to do!'I have a daugther in the 8th grade and she does all of her work (I check it), and she is still failing. She is always complaining about how the teachers always yell at anybody for even caughing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

The teachers are great and they really care! I give them a lot of credit---I would not be able to handle what they have to put up with. I have a child that attends this school and it really upsets me that I feel that she deserves so much more than what is going on in this school. I am trying everything in my power to get her out of an out of control situation, what I mean by this are to students that are constantly disrupting class and threating teachers and other students. I am at this school everyday and there seems to be little respect for adult authority. Something these kids seem to forget is that they are in school to learn----that is their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I just finished my 6th grade year and it was hard! Some Students are just horrable and some of the teacher just don't care. I was lucky to have great teachers. Teacher need to step up big time because it's going to get worst. I think safety is the only 'Big' problem. Teachers always return calls and emails, The Principal and Vice prinapal are very nice and are very firm to bad actions. We have great band and choir classes. Some Teacher qualitly is the best. Though there are problems i would go back to the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2007

Hilbert has changed for the better. My son has thrived there and a lot of it is due to great leadership and excellent, caring teachers. They go the extra mile and always return emails and phone calls. The principal and assistant principal are always on hand and have a great relationship with the parents and students. Parent/Teacher conferences go very well and you can tell that the teachers care deeply. My son is happy to be at school and is very positive about the learning process. Kudos to Hilbert!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

Everyone is quick to blame the Teachers! When need to focus on the kids and what comes from home. Parent involvement. A strong community comes from everyone. Hilbert's not perfect - but I have seen improvements. They do have several Teachers and Staff that actually care! I have encountered teachers that seem they should find another career - but in the same meetings there are outstanding teachers that have been very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

This school is out of control and only get worse when you move on to the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I attended my 6th graders class and was shocked! There was no control over the class & some of the 'children' tried to intimidate the teacher. I could hardly follow the lesson plan myself with so many problems. When I expressed my disbelief to the office it was a joke and they blamed it on the weather.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

This is a school that teaches people how to be a person that teaches other people how to be a school person. Because schools are meant for people to learn how to be in a school to school someone about a school for a school someday. Because, after all, schools are for cool kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

212 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

211 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

211 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

208 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

208 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 48% 18%
White 43% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Shawn Mcgowan
Fax number
  • (313) 242-4005

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26440 Puritan
Redford, MI 48239
Phone: (313) 242-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Murphy Elementary
Detroit, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT