Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lee M. Thurston High School

Public | 9-12 | 1050 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

Teachers are very caring and every teacher has tutoring hours after school for extra help in classes. Lots of AP classes and college prep stuff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

In the last four years that my son attended the school has seen "transitional periods". The school met my son's needs but did not offer much in the way of challenge. If the parent is involved then the most of the school staff is open to communication. There are some that don't wish to be bothered but that is found everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

I have 2 children that have attended THS, one of them still is and does ok there and likes it. The other had ADD and THS was not able to help us with that issue in a timely manner while her grades and self esteem were dropping, so I pulled her out. She is a respectful, sweet girl but was being treated like a delinquent due to her grades dropping and it literally made her physically ill. I'm not saying it's a bad school, but they either weren't capable or didn't attempt to help us even though the state says they must.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

This is my sons first year at the school and so far I am pleased. Staff really shows they care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

Thurston High is a very good school. The teachers are very well educated they teach strong material. The principal leadership is very good they keep you on top of everything that is going on in the school. The academic programs are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

I have a 10th grader at THS...Thurston is a very good high school that keeps you informed about everything that's going on. I love the parent connect which helps me keep up with grades. The teachers that I have encounter last year and this year, are very concerned with my childs education. I am very impressed with all the honors classes that are offered...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Because my granddaughter attends school there. They have a brand new auditorium for school plays and other school events. Their choral group is great.


Posted September 16, 2009

This is our 1st experience in a public school , my daughter has been in a private school since Kindergarden . So far all has been great , Thurston has a wonderful caring staff , lots of great classes & programs . Also they has a new auditorium thats soooo nice & state of the art . Their media program has a awsome teacher & their media studio is the same as CSN . My child is doing great & happier than she ever has been in school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I am a student at ths and i believe our school & district strives to achieve more than any other school i have attended.. The staff as well as principal and authorities appreciate as well as genuinely care for students ant their well being. It has great college prep classes & not to mention an amazing music program! go band! i believe they do the best they possibly can in the current economical slump.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

I am a Thurston Alumni and I loved it. the teachers are great and all of the students got along. At any high school there will be problems, but it is all what you make of it individually.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2008

Thurston is a school divided. There are either the students who appreciate and respect teachers, and those who don't. Some teachers simply cannot get through to the students they teach. If you aren't in the 'hard' classes with the 'hard' teachers, then your time is being wasted. I often heard parents blaming the teachers for their poor teaching, when in all actuality, the students are mostly disrespectful, very righteous, and annoying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2007

The Thurston experience varies on which classes and programs you're in. If you are in the advanced placement programs, Thurston is a really good school. If you're in the average classes, Thurston isn't so great. A lot of the students don't care and it really hinders the learning process.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2007

This is an excellent school in a safe, affordable neighborhood. I have sent 3 children there; one of whom is currently studing to be a doctor; a graduate of University of Michigan - Ann Arbor; and one currently at the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor. Without the helpful teaching staff at THS, none of my children would have gone on as they did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Parent involvement is poor, except for a few truely dedicated ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2006

Most of the students my son has been around have no respect for staff or even the school itself. When I have been there to pick him up, I myself have experienced this type of behavior and nothing seems to have changed in the past 3 years, I am glad he will be graduating and of Thurston this year. By far it has gotten worse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

This is by far the worst school I have ever been to. The school has so much violence and empathical students who do not want to learn. Every year that I went here, it seems to be getting worse. The school however does offer a good band program, probably one of the best in the area. They have gone to Carnegie Hall and many other places and are just getting and better. The school's lunch is pretty good as well, but the school's sports are average. The school is receiving a huge bond to build a new auditorium and new classrooms, but with this school's rate the new stuff will not last. As for academics the school does petty average, but with the amount of empathy in the kids in this school, it may deffianetly bring you down. At times I could not learn because of the people around me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2005

Thurston provided me what I would consider the best highschool education available. The teachers there are more than dedicated and will go to extreme measures to help students who actually care about their education. The school was recently renovated, and asside from an occasional leak that its quicly repaired the school is in great condition for a school of its age. The technologies available to all students are remarkable. I am currently a student at one of the University of Michigan campuses I can honestly say their technology preparations for their students are absolutely capable of preparing students for their next step in education. Parent participation is the only thing that is lacking at this school, parents remain completely uninvolved until there is something happening that they don't like and typically that is what makes the media and becomes the focus of attention of many former students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2005

As a graduate of THS a few years ago, I have to say that I couldn't of had a better high school experience. I participated in band, SADD, Track, and Volleyball, and had wonderful mentors in and out of the classroom. It's sad that the culture of a school can change, and I would never believe that of THS unless I viewed it myself. That is my recomendation for you, visit the campus and see if it is right for your child. The band program is one of the best in the nation, they have been choosen to play at Carnegie Hall in N.Y.C. twice in the past 4 years. Each time they are one out of a select few in the nation. Mr. Lucius is a wonderful mentor for adolecents, and the conselors do support commumity college enrollment for select students who are eligible. Parents get involved!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 18, 2005

The school in general has gone down hill from when I attened and graduated in 1983. We recently moved out of the south redford school district do to a private account were the principle was of no help to my son or myself. The ceiling in the cafeteria was leaking, the bathrooms were downright ubtrusive, and the lack of supervision the students had in the hall was suprendus. There have been more fights in the hallways during passing time than actual prevention methods being practiced. There have been numorus bomb threats agianst the staff and students, I have threatned to go striaght to the press, at that time the districts lawery threatned to sue from negative press attention and harrassment. It's time some things is going to be done about this horrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

This school has deffiantely went downhill very fast. The school offers great lunches and after school activies as well. I would not recommend sending your child here. I am moving to another town, and one of the reasons is to go to a much better school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

232 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

235 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
18%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

232 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

236 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students10%
Female9%
Male10%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial10%
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female52%
Male41%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students12%
Female9%
Male17%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial0%
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students29%
Female27%
Male32%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial40%
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students39%
Female42%
Male35%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

86%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 66% 18%
White 26% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Williams Simms
Fax number
  • (313) 592-0740

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26255 Schoolcraft
Redford, MI 48239
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 242-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Veritas
Redford, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT