Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Jefferson Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 324 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

I have 2 children at Thomas Jefferson Elementary. And since there hasn't been any new comments in a while, I just wanted to let everyone know that there is new principal. She actually started 2 years ago (2012/2013 school year), after the previous one decided to move out of state. This new one is AWESOME! She is young, friendly, out-going, full of energy and always there to listen and provide different ideas. She is focused on school improvements. The school continues to be a green school. But they have instituted the Watch D.O.G.S (Dads of Great Students) which has provided positive male involvement in the school. The principal is well-liked and respected among the parents and staff. The kids LOVE her! And she loves them. The teachers are great and care so much about all of the students. If anything, the school could use even more PARENTS to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

It would be great to focus on diversity and inclusion inside the school. The principal there isn't the best and the school lacks direction. I would like to see the school become more culturally responsive reaching all learners. It may take the district administrators to think outside the box and hire a principal that is fresh and young to boost the energy level up with staff over here. My kids will return but I am looking to see if there will be a more diverse feeling and that their is a positive focus this new school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

Teachers are great, but Principal is the worst... She is taking the school down... Moral there is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

I am a parent at Jefferson, this was our first year here, 1st grade. i met the principal over the summer, and wanted to go to this school after that! so we did! and what a great choice it was! the Staff is AMAZING!! SO loving, and really care about the kids! Parents involvment is what is lacking if anything. not many help out, its always the same parents, and that is SO SAD, but ask anyone, its the same at every school! so pick your new school based off the staff, the awards, whats important to that school! and what their goals are for your students education! go in and talk to them, take a tour yourself, and see if you "feel" lik ethis school just has the right mix of all the important details! GOOD LUCK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

I think the school is AWESOME!!!!!!! The entire staff at Jefferson work very hard at making it such a good school. Parents are ALWAYS welcome. Ever since my son started school I was always welcome to go to his class and volunteer. It's a great way to see how well the kids adapt in the classroom. My daughter can't wait to start in the fall. My thanks to the entire staff at Jefferson, keep up the great work!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

The new principal in driving the school down, parents aren't welcomed into the school and teachers don't care as much as they used to. It break my heart to see how the school has gone down in the last several years. We had some great programs...all gone and not because of funding cuts but because the principal is so difficult to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

I have been at Jefferson since kindergarten till 5th grade and I'm in 6th grade but Jefferson was a really great school! The staff was awesome they really love the kids and the kids really love them and the school.The staff trys thre very best to help us learn and fix problems if there is any. The new principal Deborah Greenwood is awesome she has over 20 year experience in teaching and she is smart, kind, and very very very helpful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2005

Jefferson Elementary is a great school where teachers love their jobs and students love to go to school! I myself am a teacher (in a different district), and I have witnessed first hand the feeling of family and teamwork that permeates this school. I know my children are receiving excellent instruction not only in the basics but also in music, physical education, and art. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

I worked part time for the district. And found the teachers to be very caring and devoted to there students. Also the kids truely seemed to enjoy learning and helping. very nice staff and kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

We currently have 3 kids(1 5th and 2 2nd) in this school since kidergarten. there is inadequate challenges for above average children and the staff doesn't care to change this problem. The scool district itself is no help either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter has attended this school since 1st grade and is now in 3rd grade. The school is exceptional with experienced staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 69%
African-American 40% 18%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Susan Maurus
Fax number
  • (313) 937-0654

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26555 Westfield
Redford, MI 48239
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 937-2330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Robert Bellarmine School
Redford Charter Township, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT