Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American Montessori Academy Upper Elementary

Charter | 3-6 | 244 students

Montessori Methods

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

This school is okay. The teacher I have now is very friendly and she sticks up for us, I've been here since kindergarten and all my teachers were nice so far but all the other teachers are always mean, and they have the most strict uniform policy ever! They won't even let you wear a sweatshirt unless its red white or blue. Also some kids their are nice I have a ton of friends. Also they are too protective and won't let us do anything that a normal school of that grade is able to do. At first when I came it was a 5 stars from kindergarten to second grade. then it kept getting worse as new teachers came and went. So yeah, even a 2 is pretty high for me.


Posted August 19, 2013

well i have been here since 3rd grade and at the beginning of each school the teachers are nice but after that it was not great. one day this boy was calling my friend a 'brat' and other mean stuff i didn't think that was right so i went up to my teacher's and i told her long story short when i told all the teacher did was look at me and and asked the other teacher did she want to she a picture of her dog!!!!!!!!! so my mom said i will finish this for 5th grade and get out of the on the last day of this school year i will bust out door doors and laugh till i cry


Posted September 27, 2012

As a former Student at American Montessori Acadmey Upper elementry, I really did have a hard time. The kids in my class where rude and violent. One kid even got his hand stabbed with a pencil, another time a student threw a chair. No Bullying rule???? YEAH RIGHT!!! I was bullyed all the time, but was to afriad to tell anyone, in fear of what my bully would do. I always got good grades at my other school, but I found it hard to keep up with the home work here, because it was so unorganized. At one point I even had to do 1450 word essay, with 5 different categories (12 3x5 note cards with fact for each category), 3 sited sources from two different places, A rough draft and I final draft. This had to be done in two weeks. I WAS IN 5TH GRADE!! This assignment really stress me out, because the same week we had a science project to do too. I am in a new school and I love it! I have got my grade back on track and I feel safer here.


Posted September 20, 2012

WOW Amazing.......A truly amazing experience. My children have been with this school since Jan 2008. I had one child graduate from this academy last year, another in 5th grade and the last child started at the lower this fall in kindergarten. I am so impressed in how much more educated my children are compared to other children of the same age in our neighborhood. My 7th grader had to take a placement test to enroll in school this year, wow. Above average all a crossed the boards. The principal and staff make all of the kids feel truly special. The BEST of all NO BULLYING going on here, because it is not welcomed. Everyone shows respect for all, the teachers show respect for other staff and the students. The students have GREAT respect for the teachers and other staff. We are so blessed and privileged to be able to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

I have the privilege of working with staff who genuinely care about each and every student. High expectations are set, and students are challenged in order to grow academically. The principal is greatly respected and appreciated by the staff, students and parents, and the teachers are highly qualified in their field. The teachers not only teach the curriculum but also teach responsibility, in order for students to be successful academically and successful in life. The whole child is addressed, not just the academic part. This school has a safe and caring environment, and it is a top-notch school for academic and personal success!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2012

This school made the difference between success and struggle for my children. We began attending the first year it was open, and each year brought more success than the last. The staff were not just caring and committed, they forged relationships with my kids and became key partners in their success. I delayed moving until my youngest could finish, and if the school went beyond 6th grade, we'd still be there. I truly believe that the culture of the school (very peace-based - not sure what the parent who spoke of cliques etc. was talking about!), flexibility of the curriculum (every child gets individualized attention), passion of the staff (my kids' teacher were heroes) , and commitment to creating lifelong learners make this school simple amazing. My kids have both transferred back into public schools, and were at least equal to and/or advanced compared to their public school classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

I attended AMA from 1st grade to 6th grade. I think it was a great school, and it is the best school I have attended so far. The kids at AMA were so nice and I always felt safe and like I had a bunch of friends. I couldn't believe how mean kids were to each other when I left AMA and went to middle school. I think every kid should get the chance to go to AMA.


Posted September 20, 2012

As the team shares during open enrollment, the montessori approach is not for every kid, but it sure was great for my kids. They learned to be responsible learners who took accountability for getting their goals done. The social worker at the school is amazing, and both principals (lower and upper) are top notch. This school offers a real and valuable alternative to mainstream public education, and was a blessing for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

Awesome school. Staff really cares, and the kids are really great to one another. If your kid struggles in regular public school, this may be the place for you. They are very flexible with the curriculum and can be great for kids who aren't fitting in well. You do miss out on things like music and art, but I always felt the more important things were helping develop a love for learning and finding a place where my son would be accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

AMA has highly qualified teachers, a strong and respected principal, the best support staff, and students who are motivated to make a difference in the world. At AMA, we believe that building relationships with each and every student is the foundation to a successful classroom. AMA is a school community where we use strategies and practices that purposefully encourage and teach sharing, learning, interdependence, and respect. We provide a differentiated curriculum where we adapt the curriculum in different ways to meet the needs of all our students. At AMA we strongly believe that a recognition of differences is essential, if a school or teacher is to do the best possible for each child. Differentiation allows students to master core concepts of the curriculum; utilize their strengths, learning styles, and background knowledge. Students are able to set individual learning goals, and develop their personal skills and projects. AMA believes every child can learn and every child learns differently. The students at AMA gain the knowledge to grow academically, socially, and emotionally in an atmosphere that is stimulating and adaptive to their diverse needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2012

As a student that has just graduated from this school and its student life isn't as happy as they say. Their were lots of cliques and the students were rude. People talked about other people and some classrooms would not even listen to their teacher. Some students even made another student cry because they called him something very disrespectful. When graduation came I was excited and cried because I was so very happy to leave.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 69%
African-American 34% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 147%N/A48%
Female 256%N/A48%
Male 244%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Pennies for Patients (2010)
  • Pennies for Patients (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Science club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jennifer Wilkins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (313) 533-0005

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Intramurals
Girls sports
  • Intramurals

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girls on the run
  • Link Crew
  • Peer Mediators
  • Safety Patrol
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
225
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17175 Olympia
Redford, MI 48240
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 533-0000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Macgowan School
Redford, MI


St Valentine Catholic Elementary School
Redford Charter Township, MI




Beech Elementary
Redford, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT