Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamlin Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 418 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I have heard a lot about of good reviews about this school, so much good about this that we also decided to send my 3 year old to same Pre-K .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

I was at hamlin for 6 years. Best school ever!! The teachers are so friendly and nice!


Posted November 16, 2013

Our kid attends special education, i would not recommend this school if your kid is diagnosed with ASD. This is the first year of a new principal. He has not been in any of the meetings held with us. The teacher in charge of the sp ed classroom needs to ask for approval for almost anything to the sp ed Director. To observe you need to put a request at least one week notice and wait for approval from Sp Ed Director. High effort to discourage parent participation. Specialists delegate their responsabilities to paraprofesionals even teaching of critical skills to ASD kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

Hamlin is a great school.My daughter enjoy being a part of it. They give a lot of importance to both personal development and educational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

My son will be going to Hamlin for his second year this year. It is a reat school, with great staff, and we love Mr. Cornish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

My two boys attend Hamlin. This is their first year and they love this school! Everyone in the school from the principal on down is very professional, attentive, and nice. One of my boys receive special services for a learning disability and I must say everyone seems to go above and beyond to give him the help he needs. During a school break my boys had said they miss school. How awesome is that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

It cares about our children and puts education ffirst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

The teachers are very involved and proactive with my daughter. They were helpful in working with her medical issues. The principal Mr. Cornish is very caring knowing every student's name and issues. They put my daughter in a reading group early on which help her tremendously. Recently she scored in the 98 percentile (TerraNova 6th grade) for reading largely because of Hamlin's reading group. Hamlin has exceeded any expectations I had for a quality K-5 education for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

Many of the teachers are great at this school, but if the child has any kind of learning disability they seem to lack knowledge of what to do and the child suffers because of it. Also I don't see as many activities at this school compared to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

Both my daughters attend Hamlin Elementary. My daughters really enjoy going to this school. As parents, we are blessed to see our daughters are attending this school. This is an excellent school because the principal, teachers and the staff are very proactive, day-in and day-out, morning through the afternoon. I highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

This is a wonderful school. We moved in the middle of the school year last year and she was welcomed so warmly by the principal, teachers and children. The principal has been there a long time and is very involved. The teachers are wonderful and my daughter is doing very well academically. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

This is our first year at Hamlin and our fourth grader has suffered. Material isn't explained thoroughly and children are chastised for not understanding. Our family has been offered an opportunity in another state and we have accepted it in large part because of our huge disappointment in Hamlin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

Great school. Excellent staff, fabulous principal, down to earth involved parents. Shelley Trainor 2006
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

The school is one of the best I have ever seen! The teachers and the administrative staff are all highly involved with each and every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

Great school; excellent principal, completely involved, aware of the school happenings; the staff is well prepared and friendly; the environment very safe; kids come from mostly stable homes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Great principal. He is straight forward. He knows every child's name and addresses them by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 69%
Asian 16% 3%
African-American 12% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Gary Van Staveren
Fax number
  • (248) 726-3605

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

270 West Hamlin Rd
Rochester Hills, MI 48307
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 726-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hampton Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Brooklands Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Holy Family Regional School
Rochester Hills, MI



Rochester Hills Christian
Rochester Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT