Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hamlin Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
I really appreciate Mrs. Odell and the office staff. She is always friendly and as helpful as she can be. (I also really appreciate Dr. Van and the teachers my kids have had. All of them are encouraging and caring.)

Hamlin Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
The kids receive compassion, caring and empathy from their teachers, staff, and principal. It is really a good learning environment.


Hamlin Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Hamlin feels like a community with a common goal of helping the kids. I have been impressed with the principal, Dr. Van Staveren, as well as the teachers and staff. They know and encourage the kids. They communicate well and often with the parents. They make learning fun. We love Hamlin.

Hamlin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Marissa Kalmus is an excellent, creative teacher who reaches all of her students where they are.

Hamlin Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are phenomenal. We have 2 children at Hamlin and both are challenged and loved by their teachers every year


Hamlin Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
The overall vibe is very collaborative and the students/staff feel like a family. There are so many great opportunities for students, and the teachers are incredible. Our family loves it at Hamlin so far!

Hamlin Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
We moved here August 2014 and have felt at home at Hamlin. The teachers, helpers and entire staff is amazing. We feel connected, informed and like our opinions and concerns matter. My boys have loved K/1 and 2nd/3rd...I feel like they receive exactly what they need at the time they need it from their teachers and we couldn't be more pleased.

Hamlin Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank Dr. Van. I believe the principal provides the basis for the type of environment a school will possess. His expectations encourage great teachers to be their best selves. Which in turn helps those teachers to bring the best out of their students.


Hamlin Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
My kids have experienced two teachers each so far...and they have all provided just what my boys were in need of the time. Strict when necessary, fun when it's called for, and always respectful and using every opportunity to teach and grow.

Hamlin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
I hear about other elementary kids having hours of homework a night. At Hamlin I feel the kids learn a great deal during the day, work hard, and have a reasonable amount of homework at night. They are kids still. But they learn so much. And they are creative in their approach too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamlin Elementary School
270 West Hamlin Road, Rochester Hills, MI  48307
(248) 726-3600
Last modified Hamlin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hamlin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. Top