Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hampton Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 497 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2012

My son goes to Hampton elementary from kinder Garden. It's been great experience for us and him. Kids are doing very well on academically and socially. Teachers are great and work with kids individually very well. Also school is progressing good towards achieving state recommended goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

The only complaint I have with this school is the front office. It seems as though every time my child coughs, sneezes, or hiccups they want to send her home. To add to the frustration, there isn't even a nurse on staff. I do not feel that because my child is flushed and coughing she should get sent home. Also, if you don't call by 9am when your child is absent, they call you and complain that you need to call in earlier. Other than these complaints. The school is great. We love my daughters teacher, Mrs. Moher and think she is a wonderful teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

I am extremely disappointed in this school. The principal, Charles Rowland, is completely disinterested in what goes on during school hours. He allows bullying to continue unchecked, and when it it brought to his attention, shrugs it off as being unimportant. There are some good teachers, but they don't seem to receive administrative support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Etremely dissapointed parent of children who attend Hampton Elementary. To say the least the principal is extremely careless and somewhat prejiduce. The teachers are oblivious of what occurs and I feel my children are unsafe in the school. I will not longer have my children attend this school and strongly suggest for other parents to be cautious of their children attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Hampton Elementary has been my daughters school since 2008 when we moved to Michigan from Mexico. What I really like of this school is the diversity of its people. The Parade of Nations last year counted 52 different countries represented in the kids of Hampton. The teachers are very professional, they make their best effort for having all the kids accomplishing the goals of each school year, and help us parents participate actively on classroom activities whenever is possible. Hampton also has a lot of options for activities after school and has a very frindly environment for kids to get integrated in the US society and help them enjoy all their learning activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

We loved this school. I rarely had a complaint while my kids attended. The principal, Mrs. Trahan, rules with a hug, not with a fist. She is very approachable; not intimidating at all. Our most favorite teacher is Miss Staperfenne - if your child gets her, consider yourself blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

I have a child who entered kindergarten this year at Hampton. This is my first experience with a suburban school and I am delightfully pleased with my child's progress, teachers, administration and parent involvement. I believe the teachers as well as the afterschool caregivers are exceptional at what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

After 2+ yrs. I will not be sending my children here for another year. The teachers do not follow up with their students progress what so ever. They don't check to see if planners or papers are signed, they don't pay attention to what is going on in class with student interaction. Staff & para-pros do not monitor their recess time, & students are doing inappropriate actions & behaviors while unattended. Many of the teachers have the 'attitude' of superiority they feel they should display to the parents as well. 2004 year principal Ms. Trahan currently lacks having any control over this school & its operations. Her demeanor & approach thus far in dealing with teachers dropping the ball or normal childhood issues has failed miserably in my opinion. Great neighborhood, very poor school choice. I would suggestg looking into another area school with better overall performance & track record.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

My son loves this school. The teachers are caring and responsive. Attention is paid to being sure children are not intimidated by others and have a good learning experience. Very detailed feedback at conference times about school work and behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

This school has some great teachers! The curriculm is good. There is alot of parent involvement for activities and such in this school. My daughter loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 69%
Asian 32% 3%
African-American 11% 18%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ryan Starr
Fax number
  • (248) 726-3705

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

530 Hampton Circle
Rochester Hills, MI 48307
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 726-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family Regional School
Rochester Hills, MI


Hamlin Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Brooklands Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI



Rochester Hills Christian
Rochester Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT