Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brooklands Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 543 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2012

This is a great school. My 2nd grader daughter's teacher and others are very dedicated and sincere in their efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2011

This is the third year my daughter has attended Brooklands Elementry. I have volunteered often. The PTA is dynamite. They work very hard to bring a lot of fun events for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

very good school. positive environment. Great teachers. very Good reading programme. motivates kids to read on their own. Good basket ball team. science fairs are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

My Both kids goes to this school, we are very satified with studies and the teachers. Great school and we are lucky that our house is just near by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

My daughter went to this school. She loved it. Great teachers that keep parent informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My both Kids attended Brooklends. It's a very good school and my elder one who is in 7th Grade still he misses it. SAC is very good. Large play grounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2004

My son attended Brooklands for 5 years (he is now in Middle school) and my daughter attended Kindergarten last year. Both kids had a great experience. Teaching staff is excellent. Lots of opportunities for parent -teacher communication. Both kids were very well prepared for the next level of learning. SAC (after school care)program was also very well organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

I have a Child who has been to pre-school and kindergarden at Brooklands and we are very pleased with the way the school is ran. The programs are great, and the Principal and teachers are all very good and they really like to be teaching. I volunteer at the school a lot and I enjoy being there. I have a 3 year old starting pre-k 3 and I have already met her teachers. I have no worries about my children being at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 69%
Asian 17% 3%
Multiracial 5% 2%
African-American 4% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Teresa Simonetti
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (248) 726-3405

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • busses for studnets over a mil
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

490 East Auburn Rd
Rochester Hills, MI 48307
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 726-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family Regional School
Rochester Hills, MI


Hampton Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Hamlin Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI



Rochester Hills Christian
Rochester Hills, MI


Oakland Steiner School
Rochester Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT