Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brewster Elementary School 1

Posted December 10, 2013
- a teacher
This principal is rarely seen out of her office and does not address parent concerns of repeated teacher complaints in her reviews or reports improper teacher behavior to board office.

Brewster Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
We have been completely happy with Brewster for the past 4 years! There is a reason it is ranked in the top 5% of schools in Michigan. The teachers go above and beyond , even while currently working without an updated contract. Technology is a big part of the curriculum, and the teachers have always responded to my emails in a timely manner. My daughter is thriving and I wouldn't send her anywhere else! Thank you to our teachers and our principal for making Brewster a wonderful place to be!


Brewster Elementary School 2

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
The school is not using the most recent testing methods. Also, they use planners in an inproper manner, and the principal does not care to address the issue. Teachers do not answer their emails, nor do they use technology to keep the parents up to date. I sent over 3 emails to ask about my child's progress and all I received was a general answer, and the report card. The curriculum is lacking terminology for social studies and science, the kids play in that time. It is not age appropriate to teach fossils by having the kids do an impression of a leaf. (4th grade) The students are studying once a week either social studies or science. It is sad that the core subjects such as social studies or science are taught only once a week. When I asked for Pacing charts or Montly planner I was labeled as the difficult parent!

Brewster Elementary School 3

Posted September 10, 2011
- a parent
Please have latest review posted, as all we see are 4- 5 years old reviews.

Brewster Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
We have been at Brewster for a long time and have always been impressed, especially with the principal! She goes above and beyond her duty as an administrator to help children, parents, and teachers! And what do you mean she sits in her office all day and doesn't get to know anyone? I can never find her when I go in the building, because she is always in a classroom, in the lunchroom, or working with students. Of all of the schools my children have gone to, this is the most caring environment we've experienced.


Brewster Elementary School 3

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
Not as attractive (older bldg, somewhat dirty) as other schools in the district, but has many caring teachers. You either like or don't like the principal. I see her daily and she knows all of my kids by name and she has always rushed to address all of my concerns. My children love this school, but I think they would do better elsewhere. They are the ones who go here though so I continue to send them.

Brewster Elementary School 2

Posted October 28, 2005
- a parent
The leadership is non-existent because she doesn't visit classrooms and rarely comes out of her office. The principal does not know the students because she doesn't take the time to. Lacks a real vision for the school. The principal does not create a fun place to instill lifelong learning at this school.

Brewster Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2003
- a parent
Golden Apple award winner in 2001. As you can see by the MEAP test scores, the children really learn a lot from the excellent, dedicated teachers here. Parental involvement is amazingly high, with a strong PTA and a great community feeling. Disciplinary problems are almost unheard of. At the time of this writing, class sizes are smaller than many other schools in the area. I would highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brewster Elementary School
1535 Brewster Road, Rochester Hills, MI  48306
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (248) 726-3300
Last modified Brewster Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top