Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rochester Adams High School

Public | 9-12 | 1531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

The staff and the students are 'The Prescription of Kindnees', they are very giving , generous, and loving ...it was beyond a blessing for my daughter and I to be a part of their school community. At Rochester Adams every student is important, cared for and encouraged to be the best they can be and given limitless , abundant opportunities, and i'm so thankful for teachers becoming teachers they have the ability to stretch the genius out of every child.Rochester Adams are the ingredients of an 'Educational Smorgasbord', completed with a menu of victorious graduates every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Rochester Adams is an excellent school, with active parents, numerous clubs and sports. My son had no problem in his freshmen year of college, and the AP classes allow a focused student to excel. Parental involvement is excellent, with plenty of volunteers to get things done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

The school is great; however there are few areas they can improve on. The computer generated course scheduling is always full of mistakes which requires back and forth communications with the consolers. The consolers are also very slow in email responses, sometimes days before you hear anything back. But overall I am happy with Adams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I am a graduate of Adams and now a teacher. I felt very prepared for college and received a wonderful education at Adams. I have taught in less desirable districts and areas in the state and have seen the vast differences in the quality of education. I feel very lucky to have attended such a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2007

Adams High Schools has been a blessing in my son's life. Teachers and Counselours are very helpful and friendly . We are foreigners and I imagine that my children could have problem in adapt at school. My mistake , they were very welcomed and Mrs. Jones is a fantastic counselour and has taken care of us . Good enviromnents, good teachers .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

This was a very good school to attent. I'm a graduating Senior this spring (YAY!) and I can honestly say I've had the time of my life at Adams. The principal was hardly seen (I didn't know who she was until my junior year), all of my teachers have truly cared about the studies and students learning the material. There are LOTS of clubs, activities, and sports to keep one busy. Good location with shopping/food right down the road.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2006

Excellent school. The students do very well at Adams due to the great teachers and administrators. Adams deserves a lot of credit for this. My children love Adams and rightly so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I would just like to say that I believe that Rochester Adams is an excellent school. I graduated there in the early 90's and it prepared me well for college and for life. I am currently a Veterinarian who graduated from MSU. If your child is interested in Biology, this is a great school. Mr. Glenn is a phenomenal teacher.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 19, 2006

I think Rochester Adams High School has a long way to go to be rated 'Great'. It's ok. I have found that most of the teachers aren't as sincere as they make you think at 'meet the teacher' night. They sound like they will be there for your child, but when push comes to shove, they aren't around for help. I feel that the teachers that are involved in the sports programs tend to put that first before their classroom teachings. It is unfortunate that a student's grades have to suffer because they can't work around the sports schedules.This is definetly something that needs to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

Rochester Adams High School (Rochester Hills, Michgian) was the BEST high school that I have ever attened! The athletics were amazing (Football...STATE CHAMPIONS 2003 and soon to be 2005!) and they also have GREAT academics too! If anyone is moving into this area...Consider moving CLOSE to Rochester Adams High School. You will be amazed with what you see. They parents, students, and also the staff are polite, kind, caring, and are willing to help you in any way that is needed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 15, 2005

This school is pretty good
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2005

I think that Adams is a great school. Our math and science programs our great. There are so many different extracurricular actives to choose from. Also i think that adams doesn't have a big drug problem. There are a lot of students at our school that drink, and that do marjuana. I don't think that the percentage is any bigger at adams then any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2004

Adams High School is a very good school to go through high school in. It is a great academic school, which prepared me for college very well. But there are always the problems, one of which is the alcohol and drug use. My guess is that about 90%-95% use alcohol more then once when they are seniors, and that about 75%- 80% of seniors use marijuana more then 5 times in the school year. But that really isn't a huge problem, because it seems that the students there can still recieve high scores and high grades. Adams High School is a decent place, but most students are sheltered. All in all it is a very good place to grow up.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 21, 2004

I think that Rochester Adams School is a school with a very wide range of classes to fit a student's needs. But, unfortunately, a large member of the student body is addicted to one form or another of controlled substances. Several employees are rather mean to their students and motivation, a very important part of learning, is in some cases lacking and in others all together absent. All in all this school has a potential to be a much better educational facility, but is fine at the moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

365 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female69%
Male68%
African American39%
Asian90%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial77%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
African American50%
Asian95%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial92%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students64%
Female60%
Male67%
African American33%
Asian78%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial77%
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
African American50%
Asian90%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female91%
Male75%
African American44%
Asian95%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

98%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 69%
Asian 11% 3%
African-American 5% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kevin Cumming
Fax number
  • (248) 726-5205

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 West Tienken Road
Rochester Hills, MI 48306
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 726-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oakland Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI


Gull Lake Virtual School
Auburn Hills, MI


Rochester High School
Rochester Hills, MI


Heritage Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT