Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

University Hills Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 408 students

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter went to University Hills in Rochester Hills and had a wonderful experience. All of her teachers as well as the outstanding principal worked together to help her develop through the years! Sending my daughter to this outstanding school was the best decision I ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

We along with so many other families chose this school through school of choice. The principal is amazing and the staff is wonderful. The parent involvement is very strong in this school, the children enjoy so many activities and events. This school is a great example of what an elementary school should be. The principal makes sure that all children respect one another and the staff. The teachers and staff truly care about the children and will do whatever they can to make sure the children excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

Wonderful school, wonderful teachers, wonderful Principal! Both my sons have gone to this school and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to move into the area or looking at school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

We are moving in MI and look for the houses around UH elementry.Can anybody tell me some thing about the school.I don't see any review in this year.so was a bit curious to know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Having moved from out of state and having to start a new school with not knowing what to expect, I can say I am very happy and impressed with University Hills Elementary. The teachers are wonderful and very in tune with my children. Can only speak very highly of U'Hills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

A few years ago my kids were in a private school because we were in Europe. We had already experienced U.Hills for a couple of years when we went to Europe and couldn't wait to get back to University Hills. This is an excellent school and the education standard is fantastic. Bravo to Mrs. Grande the principal, she does and amazing job and her staff are quite simply the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

We love this school. We chose it as our school of choice. It has great teachers, a great principal and wonderful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

The teachers are great and my daughter loves to go to school. They always care about the studentrs and encourage them a lot. I and my husband really appreciated it from our bottom of our heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2006

We chose this school for school of choice. It has lived up to our expectations and even exceeded them. It is a great school with a talented staff run by a caring, organized, and qualifed principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 69%
Asian 19% 3%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
African-American 3% 18%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Amy Grande
Fax number
  • (248) 726-4405

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Croydon Rd
Rochester Hills, MI 48309
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 726-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Meadow Brook Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI





Long Meadow Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT