Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lutheran High School NW

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rochester Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $148,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

I have one child that has graduated from this school and 2 children currently attending. The dedication and commitment of the teachers is outstanding. The teachers must be dedicated because they aren't paid as much as comparable teachers in the public school system. It has been a major financial sacrifice to allow our children to go here. God has been faithful and provided the funds necessary and when it often seemed impossible the school leadership reached out to us and offered help. We are thankful for the opportunity to place our children here. One word of caution.... If your child has been struggling with character or spiritual issues don't expect that transferring them to this school will instantly solve the problem however it is a great step in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

This is my daughters second year at this school and school just started, but it is the worst. She was going through challenges last year with her peers and her teachers and I thought maybe it was because she was just starting high school, but she is having the same problems this year. The students are not nice and the staff walk around like they don't know what is going on. I even had a teacher last year tell me there were not a lot of African Americans that attend this school, but they are suppose to be Christians. God only see one color, but at this school everyone is not treated the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2011

I am a parent of two students, one who graduated from Northwest and one who is currently attending. We love the school, teachers, staff and principal! The teachers are willing to work with students who are struggling. The principal and staff do all they can to make sure the school is affordable. Our oldest was well prepared for college socially, spiritually and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I cannot speak highly enough of this high school. I have had 3 children graduate - all went to college with scholarships. They made life long friendships and continue to keep in contact with former classmates. They all took AP college credit courses at NW. All the teachers are truely interested in each and every student. The principal is the best. I know that my kids are grounded in their faith. They still speak highly of their teachers and classes. I have one that is a sophomore this year and I will continue to support this school even after all my kids have graduated. It is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I have had one son graduate from Lutheran High Northwest and now have another who is a senior. This school has been a true blessings to our family. I have appreciated the challenging academic programs which prepare young men and women for university and for the future! The caring staff and administration is wonderful! Your young adults will have a wonderful experience at Lutheran High Northwest and you should seriously consider this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

Our son is finishing his first year at Northwest. He is happy with the social aspect of the school, the sports program where the school plays some very competitive teams and with the academics. The prinicpal and the teaching staff, along with the coaches are true role models for him. We as parents, love the Christian and family atmosphere of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

One of the most amazing principals of any high school in the community. Northwest offers a strong administration, high parental involvment, and great kids. There are also high academic standards, solid extra-curricular and strong athletics. Kindness and community are priority. Teachers and principal know students by name. Extracurricular activities include sports, music, drama, and more. Wouldn't have my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

Our middle daughter is now a senior, and our son a freshman. It has been a wonderful experience. Christian attitude and examples are everywhere. Very refreshing to be involved in a school where you see the principal any time you walk into the school, and he is willing to discuss anything with you--on the spot, if necessary. Smaller classes are great--kids learn more. Children are polite and respectful to teachers and parents. Wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

This is not only a great academic high school but athletically one the top private schools in the area. The baseball has recently won a state championship along with some track members. Also the football team has a new coaching staff which iis one of the best in the conference and now has 50 + players in the program with only 300 student enrollment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

The was a great school for high school kids! The staff takes a real interest in each child.LHNW has a 95% college enrollment rate. Children are encouraged to challenge their potential careers with college courses offered in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 71%
Asian 5% N/A
African-American 1% 20%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Multiracial 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Paul Looker
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ELEA
Fax number
  • (248) 852-2667

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Bagley Dr
Rochester Hills, MI 48309
Phone: (248) 852-6677

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Avondale Academy
Rochester Hills, MI


Rochester Adult Education
Rochester Hills, MI



Rochester Hills Christian
Rochester Hills, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT