Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Regional School

Private | PK-8 | 913 students

Jesus Christ is the Reason for our School
 
 

 
 

Living in Rochester Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2009

I graduated from Holy Family, and go to Notre Dame Prep. now, and I feel like Holy Family has put me very far ahead of most of the kids there. Having been a student at Holy Family, I can say I liked all of my teachers and really can't pick out any one that i would say was bad. The negative reviews really aren't very justified
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

Excellent educational experience! High expectation set for all students! Holy Family has prepared my child for High School and beyond. My child has always been made to feel important and unique. I thank God everyday for this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I am quite disappointed with paying the high tuition. I was expecting my child to be taught manners, religion, and academics. Neither of which have happened. Many of the students and parents feel that their children are entitled and give not very much respect to the teachers, peers, or fellow parents. The school does not follow a competitive curriculum with the Rochester School District and I will be sending my child back to public schools next year. Sadly, I wish I had more faith in the public school system before I threw my money away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

Holy Family is a GREAT school! My grandson, SAM, is enjoying kindergarten and his wonderful teacher, Ms. Spisak. Sr. Karen is a superb administrator. Thank you for providing an exceptional Catholic School experience!


Posted September 8, 2008

I am very surprised to read this response. Both my children attended Holy Family School and continued to excel in the Honors and AP programs at Catholic High Schools. Both my children recieved acadmic acholarships from a variety of colleges. One would think this would be a difficult challenge if they came from a school where only basic stuff was being taught. I think this person is not telling the whole story in regards to the child, or children involved. There children may have been behind in high school, but who knows what type of students they were and what type of parental support the children received from home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

I have had three children at Holy Family - all with very different needs and abilities. Each one has had great success academically, spiritually and socially. The children are respectful of one another and staff, parents and children alike are kind and community-minded. Like many non-public schools Holy Family administers the IOWA test which is a nationally normed exam. Our school ranks extremely high in the upper quartile, scoring better than 85% of schools nationwide. Students leave Holy Family prepared for high school and more. High schools consistently comment that Holy Family students are highly prepared to succeed and perform well in high school placement exams, honors and AP courses. I am grateful for Holy Family administration, staff, families and children. There are few places with the right stuff coordinated so well. There is no doubt that the Holy Spirit smiles on this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I had the unfortunate experience of sending my children to Holy Family. It was the biggest mistake. The teachers are under qualified and don't care about the children at all. The main concern of this school is not the education but the bottom line. How much money you can give or raise for them. The school is far behind of the times as far as computers, language, reading. They have lost many families in the last 3 years because of the teachers attitudes and their lack of knowledge. Some classes have close to 35 kids in 1 class. The teachers are unequipped mentally and academically to handle it so they take their grievances out on the kids. There is no second language offered untill 4th grade and even then it is very weak. Public school is far superior to this particular school. For child's sake, pass on this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

My child has attended Holy Family since Kindergarten. I have been pleased with the school administrators. The majority of the teachers are extremely dedicated to the students. I am not as happy with some of the middle school teachers. They are rude and sarcastic in the classroom. They also seem to be the least creative of the teachers. Just an observation. I have no regrets in my choice to educate my child at Holy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

Jesus Christ is the reason for Holy Family School. Our children attend Holy Family for the excellent academics and faith based discipline. The faculty & staff are top notch - this starts at the top with Sister Karen. We have children at the lower elementary through middle school and have been extremely happy with our decision to send them to Holy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

This school was a terrible choice for my children. They were bored in class because the teacher was teaching them very basic stuff. When they go into high school they will be very behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

I currently have 2 children at Holy Family. I feel very blessed to be a part of such a wonderful school. Our principal and teachers are very loving and caring toward the children as well as the parents. The education they have received has been outstanding. I would recommend this school to any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

My son attended full day kindergarten at Holy Family last year. I was very disappointed. Before starting school we were told that they would work with our son at his pace and we were surprised to find just the opposite. Reading is not on the curriculum for Kindergarten. It is strictly letter sounds and 'letter people'. Our son, like many others were already reading. Holy Family did nothing to change their curriculum and were unwilling to work with us to provide more advanced work. I feel my son was held back academically. I am curious how many of the Kindergartners are returning for First Grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

The level of parent involvement is phenomenal! Everyone acts and feels like family. It is such a warm and comforting feeling to send your child to a school that wraps their arms around them, makes them feel valued and special, and teaches them about the love of Jesus Christ. I would recommend this school highly to anyone interested in a loving experience, works well with the children in academics and provides wonderful opportunities for growth, spiritually as well as educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

HFRS is the best place for our children. The administration and staff goes above and beyond what is expected to make it a moral based school that is academically challenging in a caring environment. Strong study habits and leadership skills are taught from the earliest grades so that these skills are second nature to the children. Teachers encourage parent involvement. I challenge anyone to find a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

Holy Family has been a blessing for our family. The curriculum is amazing and has far exceeded any other school we have looked into. The staff is remarkable and always available to any parent. The parent involvement is exceptional. We could not ask for a better school. The values and morals we teach our children at home are being further taught at school. We are so grateful to Holy Family and the wonderful staff for supporting us as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

My child went to Holy Family for 2 years. It was 2 years too long. The school is over crowded. The education is very poor. The students are always behind when they go on to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

We are so blessed to have our children attend HFRS. My son was overlooked in public schools and within the first week at HFRS, they had placed my child in more challenging courses. We have been to many private schools and could not find one that we felt at home until HFRS. The teachers are wonderful and very caring. The principles are truly amazing and always available. The children are respectful, well mannered, caring and kind. The parents are very involved with their children and have given them a wonderful Christian foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

My children attended two years of Holy Family. The class size does not allow for a quality education. When I enrolled my children, I was told that there are 2 teachers per class - that was not true. I was told that Spanish was taught from Kindergarten, that was not true. Spanish is not taught until 5th grade. My biggest regret is that I waited 2 years to remove them. We are now happy with our children's new school, but they are very behind academically because of Holy Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

Holy Family is a great school. We have been connected with HF for many years. The kids get a very good education. Thye also grow in their knowledge of God and Jesus through the teachings of Sr. Helen and Sr. Karen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

Addendum to previously submitted rating. Last line should read, 'dreading the thought of our time at HFRS ending. It's been a pleasure.'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 19%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jon Myers
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 248.299.3798
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (248) 670-0320

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Students in RCS District
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Holy Family Regional School will deliver a premiere educational environment that fosters academic excellence, critical thinking, leadership and values. Through diverse and content- rich opportunities, classes, and programs, Holy Family children will be equipped with a solid foundation for their future endeavors.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Mary of the Hills Pre-school
various pre-schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Notre Dame Prep
Various Catholic High Schools
Various Public High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2633 John R Rd
Rochester Hills, MI 48307
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 299-3798

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Reuther Middle School
Rochester Hills, MI


Brooklands Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Hampton Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Hamlin Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI



Rochester Hills Christian
Rochester Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT