Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
913 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
71 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Family Regional School 1

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
So disappointed with this school. North campus started out as a positive experience, however 3rd grade was an experience we did not wish to repeat. Moving to the south campus was eye opening and a total let down. The list is long but a few of the largest concerns would be the hands off administration, lack of communication from teachers to parents, tools such as Ed Line and PowerSchools to help with communication should be used regularly by staff and it is not, the massive amounts of homework interfere with after school sport or any family time, and the faith based nurturing atmosphere is non existent outside of the religion class or weekly service. We will not be returning.

Holy Family Regional School 1

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Less than impressed with the experience my children are experiencing especially in the Middle School.


Holy Family Regional School 5

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
We are new to HFRS for the 2014/2015 school year. We have one child in kindergarten and another child in first grade. We came from another Catholic school and we were concerned for the transition. The transition for our children to HFRS was very smooth. The Administration and office staff were very helpful from the beginning and along the way. We are very pleased with the strong academic curriculum, religious foundation and teaching staff! We look forward to another wonderful school year!

Holy Family Regional School 3

Posted July 06, 2014
- a community member
As a parent who just bought a house in Rochester and who strongly wants my kids to attend a top Catholic school, the posts on January 16 and October 26 very much concern me. I also noticed the church service just after July 4 made no mention of America, placed America the Beautiful after another closing song so the priest never made any recognition of the event (he had already left), and the priest dropped (practically threw) the Eucharist into my hands without looking at me when he made the drop (did it have anything to do with my patriotic pin?). I also notice HFS has Common Core books, unlike many Catholic schools. Can anyone comment on whether the new administration is taking the school along the progressive education path? Can anyone conform or allay my concerns? Advance thanks!

Holy Family Regional School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Holy Family School has been a great place for my children to grow both spiritually and academically. The teachers are very dedicated to the children and I feel like my children have learned so much in their short time at the school. The reading program in the lower levels really addresses the needs of each student. Parents are encouraged to be involved and they help make the schools many programs operate smoothly. We are very happy to be a part of a nice community.


Holy Family Regional School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
We have two children attending Holy Family and we couldn't have made a better choice! The parent involvement here is much greater than what we've seen at other nearby schools. The school provides such a warm and welcoming environment for both parents and students. We have always experienced great communication through our teachers and other staff members. The school sends out daily emails to all parents regarding upcoming events and daily news. Academically and spiritually, our children have grown. Our children both love it here and we couldn't feel more blessed to be part of such a great, close-knit learning environment!

Holy Family Regional School 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
HFRS provides my children with a wonderful environment to grow academically, socially and spiritually. The teachers are so helpful and loving. Their are programs to help students who need more of a challenge through the talent development program as well as a program to help younger children in reading if they need it. We are so blessed to have found Holy Family!

Holy Family Regional School 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
We have two Children at Holy Family North Campus and have been here for 3 years. Although we live in a very strong school system (Rochester where I did attend school myself) we wouldn't consider sending our Children to the public elementary after our experience here. Academically both schools both our public school and HFRS are very good, however, what makes HFRS unique is the family enviroment. Even after such a short time I know almost all 90+ children in my eldests grade as well as the parents. I spend a lot of time in the school and find the children to be happy and well behaved. The parents help to establish a real sense of community and want to be involved. I also like that my kids are learning there is more to things like Holidays other than just presents, that they need to give back and help others, and they need to be respectful to all and celebrate every individuals unique gifts. No matter which High School we choose public or private I truly believe HFRS will provide them an amazing foundation for there future.


Holy Family Regional School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been an active part of HFRS for seven years. Our three children have individually thrived spiritually and academically. We experienced one year of Rochester public schools and were very disappointed. We have been pleased with the transparency of leadership at both North and South campuses. Despite recent staff changes, academic excellence, discipline and religious foundation remain strong. Middle school has been an academic challenge and we accept this challenge in preparation for high school and beyond. Great place to be!

Holy Family Regional School 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of this school, I would like to respond to the review posted January 15, 2014. Communication between the school and parents is very transparent. Not only can we tap into our daily FOFTY but also our on-line Fundamentals twice a month, daily media updates, and our HFRS website. My understanding as to the reason the Spanish teacher left was due to a higher paying position in a public school. In order to keep the cost of tuition down, Holy Family, like many other private schools, find a more affordable option by using shared services with public schools. That is a great idea. There is no loss of our Catholic identity. We are a very faith-filled community. For the first tme ever, our students are going to Mass once a week instead of twice per month!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Family Regional School
2633 John R Rd, Rochester Hills, MI  48307
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (248) 299-3798
Last modified Holy Family Regional School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top