Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hugger Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 509 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2011

We have had an excellent experience at Hugger. I only had one issue come up during our 6 years at Hugger and the principal handled it with professionalism and was completely supportive of my concern. We have loved every teacher we have had at Hugger and I couldn't imagine my children going to any other elementary. Both my kids love school and I attribute that to the warm and nurturing environment. My children will leave Hugger with a strong academic background, a love for learning and fond memories of their time at Hugger. What more could you ask for? Also , there are quite of few school of choice children that attend Hugger as well and families that have moved into the area just so their children could attend Hugger. Keep in mind you'll always find a few parents that aren't happy with their situation , but the majority of the students and parents are extermely happy at Hugger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2011

Beware of the Principal. Had to transfer out of school district last year due to her and the former superintendent incompetance one my childrens safety!! Superintendent left, so returned, thankfully due to school of choice! While taking children to local sports and activites several families have transfered to other elementaries and private schools due to the principals incompetance. Ask to see the incident reports before sending children to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

We considered private schools for our children to ensure the best education possible. We have no doubts in our decision on sending our children to Hugger Elementary. We love the principal and have had terrific teachers. The MDE just have Hugger 99.1% out of 100% on thier ranking system of academic achievement. It is true the Rochester schools due not offer foreign languages at the elementary level during the school day, but they do offer after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I must agree with the other evaluator that said she is not fond of the principal. She is pro teacher but not necessarily pro parent. If there is an issue with a teacher, she will always support the teacher. As a parent, I feel my voice is not heard. Academically the school is good. My child is happy attending Hugger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

We have 3 children and each have attended Hugger since Kindergarten. Our oldest is now at Hart Middle School with excellent grades. I could not imagine a better learning environment and am grateful for the Hugger community. This is a 'bucket filling' school which means in addition to academics, the children are encouraged to see the positive qualities in each other. I believe that in addition to the parent support and teachers make this an awesome school. We will not move by choice until our kids have completed elementary school simply because of the school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

I have two kids who enjoy every bit of Hugger school time. Hugger staff, children and parents are very friendly. Couple of kids who moved from North Hill to Hugger are ahead in their lessons. When compared to Troy schools, Hugger does not teach other languages like Spanish. Troy schools are academically high in rank. Even though Hugger can't make to Troy elementary schools, Rochester kids who graduated from Hart and Stoney creek high school are no less when compared to kids graduated from Troy high schools. Best thing is enjoy the neighbour hood and living atmosphere in Rochester. Enjoy Hugger environment. Go for it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

I have children in Hugger now, also had 2 others already graduate that went to Hugger, Enjoyed it more when we first moved here.The Principal then was a man and the school ran smoothly. I am not fond of the current Principle and would prefer to go to a different school district, we live in Washington and have to attend Rochester Schools. Not everyone is nice there are alot of very rude people in this district from Parnets,to kids to Staff. If your moving to Rochester pick a different Elem. School I do love the Middle School & High School though Parent of Rochester School students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

I am the proud parent of 2 brilliant children, one currently attending Hugger and one who graduated 2 years ago. The Hugger staff seems to have found the perfect balance providing a comfortable, nurturing atmosphere and a challenging curriculum. Opportunities for parent envolvement are abundant, but at the same time working parents who may not always be able to make every field trip or conference, are not made to feel like you don't care about your childs future. The teachers are top notch and we couldn't be happier with the Principal. My kids love Hugger, and If you are new the the area, in my opinion, it's your best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2005

I think that Hugger is great. I used to go there and I loved it. I think that people should send their child there because I learn a lot that I didn't know. Also they make it fun to learn. I never miss a day of school because I didn't want to miss anything important. Hope you see Hugger the way I do.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Asian 4% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Patrick Bevier
Fax number
  • (248) 726-3805

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5050 Sheldon Rd
Rochester, MI 48306
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 726-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Hill Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Long Meadow Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT