Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Living Word Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 150 students

Our school is best known for our religious education and quality academics.
 
 

 

Living in Rochester

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2012

Our daughter has flourished in this environment over the past 7 years. The smaller class size and minimal behavioral distractions in the classrooms have permitted her to take on extra challenges and to excel acedemically. The teachers are fantastically committed and emphasize good study habits and personal accountability. We came to Living Word for preschool on the recommendation of a friend. We were pleased to discover, as working parents, that the tuition including after care cost for K-8 were approximately the same as the amount Rochester Public Schools charges for aftercare from 3 to 6 p.m. As the years have gone by we have grown to really appreciate the benefit of the smaller class size and the high acedemic standards at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

We love Living Word Lutheran School. They have the perfect class size. Caring and nurturing teachers and administrations. They always have their doors open and are very welcoming to the students and parents. Academically my children are becoming confident and very bright children with the great guidance they have received there. We can't say enough great things about Living Word Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

Living Word Lutheran School has been an amazing place for our 3 children. The teachers are open with parents, allow kids to thrive indidually and have high academic standards. The Christian environment is excellent and I see in all of my children how much they are learning and growing in Christ. I Highly reccomend this School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

We love Living Word! This is a wonderful school with teachers and staff that truly care about everyone. The small class sizes offers personal attention for all students. LW students are testing in the top percentages and excelling both academically and with a solid spiritual base! Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Living Word is such a secure atmosphere for my children. Not only are they getting a great education, but the staff is equally caring about our family's spiritual life and making sure my children are taught Christian morals and values which is so lacking today. The smaller class sizes also provide lots of individual attention between teachers and students. Thank you Living Word for everything you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Excellent school. Teachers who actually care and who will bend over backwards to help your children. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

We love this school! My kids are getting a great education in a family atmosphere. Teachers care about every student and kids score high in testing. Graduates leave here more than prepared for high school and are very proud of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

Your child will recieve a great education. The teachers are wonderful, kind, caring and they truely enjoy teaching. It is a fun learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 69%
Hispanic 1% 6%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 3:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Stacy Hoeft
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (248) 651-8349

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • parent lunch
More from this school
  • It is our goal to educate the whole child in a way that fosters self esteem, encourages academic excellence and builds character, creating young people destined for a lifetime of high-achievement and success.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
150
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$1000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High Northwest
Rochester High
Stoney Creek High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3838 North Rochester Rd
Rochester, MI 48306
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 651-9474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





North Hill Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Brewster Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT