Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Downriver High School

Public | 7-12 | 49 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2011

I attended this school from 2001 to 2004, and it went through a lot of growth and progress at that time, a after visiting recently, I see that that progress not only continues but has exponentially grown. This is a great environment for teens that for whatever reason had trouble attending their "regular" school. The teachers and office staff are warm and committed to their jobs, and committed to encouraging kids to show their best side, by working not only on school subjects, but also on character, community, and responsibility. The sense I get from this school is that it will only get better. I'm really proud to have gone to this school. My parents had reservations about the program, but if I hadn't have gone to DHS I wouldn't have finished high school, and contrary to my parent's fears, I had no problems getting into a private college after I was done. Great Place.


Posted December 9, 2010

Our family became involved wih DHS two years one of our daughter's graduated in 09, We also have our youngest daughter who will graduate with the class of 2011 at the age of 16. Both our daughters chose to join the DHS family, I'm so proud of the choice they made it was a lesson to me, Never judge until you see with your own eyes. What makes DHS a success?? 2 word THE STAFF. If you want your child to get the most out of their education send them to DHS you won't ever regret it. I will always support DHS even long after our daughter graduates in June. I hope one person with doubts reads this and has their child check out the school and the staff they will find no place with staff so wonderful. Better yet join us for Graduation ans see the success for yourself you'll be amazed. HATS OFF TO ALL AT DHS YOU ROCK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I wish there would be more dedicated principals and teachers in this world like at DHS. The Principal and the teachers give truly-from their heart and knowledge- back to the Community.They make these teenagers to succeed in life while giving them the self assurance they need so badly.This is what real dedication and real "pedagogy" is all about. My greatest respect, appreciation to the entire staff at DHS. My daughter is graduating and we thank you for it.Best wishes and continued success to all of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

I am so proud to say that graduated from Downriver High School! I had my daughter a month before graduation and if it wasn't for the teachers at that school I don't know if i could have done it. I thank each and everyone of them and I hope one day they read this because I truely do love each and everyone of them from the bottom of my heart! DHS isn't a school it is a family! I hated everything about school before DHS and now I honestly miss it. The teachers have such heart and want nothing but the best for there students. I will never forget the people and the times I had at DHS and I will forever have nothing but good things to say about the school. DHS gives a second chance to every kid that comes through those doors. They give young moms and their
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

children a chance to have a better life a chance to finish school and go one to bigger and better things! There wasn't a day that went by that I didn't see a teacher pop there head into the daycare to say hi to the babies! I miss DHS and everyone there and I will be there soon to visit!!! <333
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

When my daughter started at Downriver in her last year of school I was a bit unhappy. I was a bit embarrassed. I wanted to say she graduated from a well known school HA! I went to her graduation, and I have been to alot of them, and I have never seen such an unbelivable amount of heart as I seen in those teachers. There was no question they truly wanted the best for their students. I was so proud. So the lesson here is an old one; Never judge a book by it's cover. My son now goes to downriver & I am so proud that he is finally getting the education, guidance, & caring that he never got from his former school. You are not just a number at Downriver, you are an individual; a cared about person. You go Downriver!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

As a current teacher at DHS, I was sad to see such a low rating. This rating is clearly based on the past. There is a new attitude at DHS. The students and staff are building something that each and every one of us can be proud of. I am PROUD to say that I teach at DHS. Go Bulldogs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 29, 2008

I have had the opportunity to teach at Downriver HS since 2001 and have been overjoyed at the growth and progress we have made as a school and the connections with our community. We hope you all will join us in improving our school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2008

DHS happens to be one of the best schools I have ever been to. DHS has given me a chance to take advantage of my education.and I have. students at DHS are very nice most of the time.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
4%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
5%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 69%
African-American 14% 18%
Hispanic 10% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33211 Mccann Rd
Rockwood, MI 48173
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 379-7080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Summit Academy
Flat Rock, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT