Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Romulus Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 289 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

I would definitely recommend this school. My oldest son started at this school in kindergarten and just completed the fourth grade with Mrs Jordan. I have maintained an excellent rapport with all of his teachers. He has always received all of the academic attention he has needed in the classroom and during tutoring sessions. The principle, Mrs McAnally, as well as the secretary, Mrs Wasson ,are both very involved. All the staff are friendly and treat our entire family with kindness and respect. I also have a son who just completed kindergarten and I was so pleased with his school year. We were skeptical when the school year began because he was already reading but his teacher took the initiative to challenge him by allowing him to split his school day between kindergarten and first grade. She continuously gauged his progress and kept us informed. I really hate that we are moving out of state and my boys cannot continue to attend this school. I hope this review can assist any parent who may be undecided about which elementary school to send your child to. I grew up attending Romulus community schools and I have never been disappointed with the quality of education provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

my sons fourth grade teacher bullied him throughout the year. His teacher Mrs Jordon bullied, ignored, and degraded him in front of his classmates and their parents. I don't recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Romulus Elementary School is awesome! My child is receiving an excellent education! thank you to the teachers, principal, and kids for making it the best school in Romulus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school is excellent! The teachers care about students. It does not matter teachers are concerned about all students. My child has found much success at Romulus Elementary School. The Principal, Mrs. Mcannally, and the secretary, Mrs. Wasson, create a very pleasant environment for my child. If feel my daughter is well taken care of while she is at school. I'm a very satisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

Romulus Elementary School is an awesome school. Teachers provided by sons with a quality education. The teachers are well knowledgable, caring, and dedicated individuals. The leadership is strong and she encourages parent involvement. This is a school that values children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

Classes too large. Poor procedures in place. Procedures currently in place not followed. Education is sacrificed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

My 2 kids have attended this school for 5 years now. I have had a very good experiance and have been very pleased. The last year though the class sizes are way to large at almost 40 kids per class. Other than the class size it has been a great school, but the amount of kids per class is unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

I guess everyone in the district thought that because the school was new it would be the best choice for their child, which is the reason why the school is over crowded. My child had 36 students enrolled in his class last year. Too many students to many problems, I also found that bullying was a problem at the school in which not much was done about it, but being sent to IR. I believe the school is very good, alot of parent involvement, I also volunteered, extracurriculum activities are good. But they have to many student in the classroom. I feel that smaller classes are better for younger children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I must say because the school was the newest in the district I believed it would have been a better school. Was I ever so wrong, disappointed in the teacher-student ratio 32 students to 1 teacher was a disserve to the children. Also the lack on concern with the bullying was a problem for me as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

This is a great school. There's a lot of parent involement, after school activites and caring teachers. My daughter loves the staff and students. Keep up the good work Romlus Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Friendly Staff, Great Teachers, and a Wonderful Principal. My Daughter Has learned alot while attending this School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 72% 18%
White 21% 69%
Hispanic 7% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marjie Mcanally
Fax number
  • (734) 532-1451

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32200 Beverly Rd
Romulus, MI 48174
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 532-1450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT