Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Global Preparatory Academy

Charter | PK-8 & ungraded | 165 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roseville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $57,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

This school is a great educational & developmental school for our children. The principal, Mr. Pate and the teachers are exceptional. My children have attended GPA for years and with the exception of the last school year, not this current one GPA has been educationally & developmentally sound for the children. They care and want our children to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

If you ask the students I'm sure you will get a fair review.. however as a parent I am going to tell the truth! There has been many changes within this school with administration and some teachers. The changes have been good and shows how determined GPA is at becoming the best for their students!! My daughters are happy, healthy and best of all learning! GPA offers after school activities and student focused learning. Tutoring and in class help allow my daughters an edge over others..if they don't understand all they need to do is ask! Global Preparatory Academy is a smart choice! Academics, Sports Cheer, & Clubs, they offer just what students need...Love & Care & Support!. GPA has a great team to work with students! It's what they do and how they do it that tells me my daughters are where they need to be! We love GPA! -Cilicia Kuykindoll (Leci&Livi'sMom!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

Awesome school, small enough that all children know each other by name. The staff is great, and will work with you thru any problem. My grandchildren don't want to miss school!!;)


Posted February 25, 2014

Before brining my son to this school my heart was breaking because my son was unhappy because of being bullied. I brought him to the school and talked to Mr. Pate and informed him of what he was going through and he reassured me that he nor any of the staff would tolirate that. Mr. Pate knows the name of every student in the school and is very serious about his students as well as the parents of his students I am ever so greatful for the staff of this school I wouldn't change my desion for bringing my son to this school for anything in the world thank you Global Prep Signed Tracey Lynn Jackson happy and greatful parent of Trachard Jackson 4th grade student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

EBONY PRICE-LANE MOM OF PRE-K AND 5TH GPA STUDENTS!! GPA IS A GREAT SCHOOL BECAUSE THEY STRONGLY BELIEVE THAT IT TAKES A VILLAGE TO RAISE A CHILD!! THEY TRAIN THE CHILDREN TO BE THE BEST IN EDUCATION, CHARACTER, AND LIFE! THEY ENCOURAGE, SUPPORT AND REWARD THE PARENTS!! I LOVE THE CHARACTER AWARD CEREMONIES FOLLOWED BY THE PARENT MEETING EVERY MONTH; IT IS THE HIGHLIGHT OF MY MONTH!! GPA FOCUSES ON THE TRANSFORMATION OF A TROUBLED CHILD WHETHER IT BE ACADEMICALLY, EMOTIONALLY, MENTALLY, OR PHYSICALLY GPA CARES!! THIS SCHOOL ISN'T JUST ABOUT TALK THEY ARE TRULY ABOUT THEIR BUSINESS IN HELPING THE ENTIRE FAMILY!! I LOVE GPA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

My name is Christina Martin and I'm a mom of a 5th grader at GPA. My son started here this year and it is truly the greatest decision I have ever made for my son. He went through a horrible experience at his previous school which completely turned him off to the entire education process. He was an honor roll student that turned into a child I had to fight to get to go to school every day. This school is filled with such love and compassion for their students that it blows my mind. It stretches from EVERY area in the school from the principal to volunteers. They provide such an amazing learning environment. They have honestly given my son back his love for learning and have given me back my happy child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

Love the Character Building at the school. Love small class size. Daily productive contact with teacher. This is Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

Finally i have found a small caring school that can give my daughter a chance. After being bullied out of piblic school we tried online schooling. My daughter fell farther and farther behind. She reached the point that she didnt care. It is still a struggle for her to adjust, but without GPA we wouldn't have stood a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

Global Preparatory Academy, recognized by the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) as a Beating the Odds and Rewards School, is a school located in Roseville, MI, an east suburb of Detroit. It offers pre-Kindergarten to eighth-grade classes, where the student can develop both academically and socially. GPA has a full, rigorous curriculum that is closely aligned with the state-mandated common core. The school also offers elective courses in art, physical education, foreign language and financial literacy (grades 5th-8th). This year, GPA added boys/girls basketball and cheerleading, while it started a full-range of after-school programs. The after-school programs featured running and photography, as well as tutoring and homework help three times per week.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2013

Great school where your child can grow to new heights. The new principal, Mr. Green, really cares about the children and does everything he can to ensure they are taught everything they need to become successful globally. My daughter attends Global Prep. She is given extra instruction in areas of need, and has improved academically, as well as socially since she has attended G.P.A. The teachers and staff are like family, ensuring the kids are safe and progressing. The only thing I would change is the fact that there aren't any sports or music activities for the children. They have PE but it would be great to have more elective classes besides art and PE. In school, academics is what is most important. Therefore, my daughter will be attending again this year with her sister starting in PreK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I have three children at this school and have been very unhappy with the new administration. They are rude, arrogant and very unorganized. Many teachers and some students have quit during the year because of bullying. Bullying by the administration. my children will not attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

My son just completed Pre-K at GPA and he and I had an awesome experience. The Pre-K teachers were great and I am very pleased with his academic level at this point. He is definitely ready for Kindergarten. The only mishap is that the school is not equipped with an after school child care program (latchkey) and as a full time working parent it is difficult to have your child attend school with no after school child care. If the school gets latchkey he will return. Very good school and the administration and front line staff are committed and great with the children. This school is highly recommended!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2012

I have two children at global prep this year, my son is in pre-k and my daughter is in the seventh grade. I must say that I am thoroughly satisfied with my children's development and performance this year. My daughter has been inducted into the National Junior Honor Society this year, and my son has begun to read on his own!!! I'm not sure what problems other parents have had in the past, but whatever issues there may have been seem to have been resolved. The administration and support staff are awesome!!! There are many opportunities for parents to volunteer and become involved in various activities at the school. I wish there was a high school extension to this school, my daughter would definitely be there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

This is a good school year they have a new administration and the kids are well handled with their behavoir
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I am a current teacher and wish to comment on the effectiveness of our new administration. We are currently in the process of hopefully being reauthorized. With new administration in place, behavior issues are in the process of being reduced as we continue to work hard to educate our students to the best of our ability. Our current administration along with us staff are turning the school around, which is a slow and difficult process trying to undo all that was done. We are definately headed in the right direction!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 23, 2008

Update... Conner Creek is now in the process of replacing the inept principal that had been there. Hopefully things will get better soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I do not know how this school is still in existence. The teaching staff are a dedicated group but the administration or lack there of is at the heart of this schools failure. An administrative team is to meake sure that teachers are supported and students are given sufficient discipline for their actions. It seems that this school rather take it out on teachers rather than getting at the root of the problem and going through the proper process to weed out those students who do not want an education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 30, 2008

I was a teacher there for two years. The administration does not know how to run a school. They have one principal for three schools, it can not be this way. The behavior issues are not dealt with properly. The administration will not support the teachers and will always side with the parents. This is not a good environment for teachers or students. Find another school for your children. The one plus though, is that there are small class sizes. The biggest class had 23 and the smallest class had 14 kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2007

Worked at the school for 2 years-worst experience ever! No administrative support, unsanitary, unsafe work environment. Most of the teachers were great and worked very hard to help the students achieve but were never given a word of praise for their efforts. Police at the school almost daily. Parents should take their students to a regular school district where these problems would not occur.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2007

I worked at this school from 2002-2004. The 1st year was pretty good, a wonderful supportive staff, and administration. The 2nd year a new administrator came in and everything went so far down, that I could not bare it any longer and so many teachers went in search for real jobs. The problem with this school is the lack of funds, handling the funds that they have, organization, extra curr activities, administration, and the list goes on. I highly suggest public schools and if you're district is not a good one, drive your child to a school of choice suburban school. I truly hope things are better for this place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

13 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 88% 18%
White 8% 69%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 190%N/A48%
Female 244%N/A48%
Male 256%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Timothy Green
Fax number
  • (586) 491-2556

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26200 Ridgemont
Roseville, MI 48066
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 575-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT