Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John R. Kment Elementary School

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 450 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2014

I have had a "your child is absent?" when she wasn't call as well. BUT!!! I would much rather get a call asking than not! Which I know some schools don't call. When I got the call about my daughter I said no she should be there. Right away they called down to the room (with me still on the phone) and found out that yes she was there. She had service squad and was late getting to they gym where her class was 1st thing that day. It was just an misunderstanding. But THANKFULLY they did call and it was cleared up! My daughter was safe and in school! I am glad they call when a child appears to be absent and no parent has called them in as such.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

To any parents that's looking for an outstanding office staff (secretary) or substitute assistance, this is NOT the school for that. I received a disturbing phone call from the office staff stating that my child is ABSENT. I know she went to school, and how upset and nervous i was at that moment!!!! When I called, they verified that my child was in fact in school. When i questioned them to double checked before they make the call to me, their excuse "WE HAVE TOO MANY CALLS FOR ABSENT STUDENTS TO DOUBLE CHECK"...WHAT!!!???? THANK GOODNESS we have one more year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

Kment Elementary is a great school. The staff is very dedicated to teaching. My daughter has attended from K-3rd presently. Each and every year I have found her teachers to be very caring and dedicated to their students. Parents have to understand that teaching your child begins at home. I believe that our Children need to have the support of Family and Staff to excel. Provide your child rest and prepare your child for learning. Discipline begins at home. Structure begins at home. Children learn from examples. Parents be a good role model for your children. Go to bed on time. Be prepared make sure your child has completed assigned homework. And support the staff in any way you can. Many times after dropping my child off at school I see the same parents rushing bringing children late. This has to disrupt the students class. Do you think your employer would tolerate you running late every day? Give your child a fighting chance in this world and be responsible enough to get your child to school on time and ready to learn . Our School and staff have many issues to contend with budget cuts, etc. Discipline begins at home. Thank you Kment Staff for all you do!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I am not crazy about Kment. My daughter is in 2nd grade and barely comes home with homework. She did not have any type of project due until February, and then sent home letters stating the due date 4 weeks from then. The next wednesday my daughter brought home a letter stating the report was now due on Monday and NO late papers will be accepted. On Monday morning there was only 9 kids that turned their homework in. There was also another project due in that same week after not having anything for the first part of the school year. Their is hardly any parent involvement. I loved my daughters 2nd grade teacher, she was very patient. They had to do a lot of lay offs and now your childs kindergarten teacher used to be a 6th grade teacher. I just do not agree with the way the school is run. There are some amazing teachers that teach at this school though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

For clarification, Kment Elementary used to be Eastland Elementary. This is the schools 3rd year running. It was newly built in place of Eastland. It's a beautiful school with updated technology and the most caring teachers you will ever meet! They truly go the extra mile for our kids. Parent involment is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

I love Eastland the staff is amazing and the teachers are all by far the most caring and understanding group of teachers you will meet!! I'm glad to say I have been apart of this school for 2 yrs now and i wouldn't have my children attend any other elementary school,they really do go that extra mile for each and every student and it makes sending my kid's to school every day easier knowing they are around people who do care.There is very little parent involvement but the parents that do help out and that are there are a great bunch of parents. I have nothing bad to say about eastland,I am glad i choice to send my children there!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

Eastland is a great school and my children just love their teachers. The principal really works hard and cares about the children. I also would like to say that there is a lot of extra support available for students who are struggling to read, write, and do math. They have a Literacy Coach, Math Coach, Teacher Consultant, Speech Pathologist, Social Worker, and Resource Room teacher. I don t know very many schools that have all this support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2006

I'm glad that the Board of Education finally saw fit to stop changing principals, giving the children the structure and consistancy they require and the staff the support they need. Eastland is really a great school. The staff is amazing, though the music program needs a lot of work still. It's a great place to send your kids. We couldn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

As a staff member at EE I believe it to be a place where any child can get an excellent education. The staff members I work with are the best in Roseville. EE has a principal, secretary and staff of teachers who work together for the good of ALL the children who attend EE. There have been many changes in the last few years but everyone at EE is working hard to make sure the changes make EE even better than before. Last, we may have a small group of parent volunteers but they are very dedicating to make EE a great place for your child to attend. I would not want to work at any other school in Roseville.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2006

It is true that this school lacks parental involvement, that has been the case since 2001, long before there was a part-time principal or a turn over in principals. The staff here is second to none, dedicated is a pale description. Yes, some are tired, again, when the parents fail to help at events, the teachers step in, rather than show up and support it, they end up having to work for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

31 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 69%
African-American 17% 18%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Shawn Wightman
Fax number
  • (586) 445-5764

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20033 Washington St
Roseville, MI 48066
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 445-5756

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Germaine Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Rodgers Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Greenwood Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Violet Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT