Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastland Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 359 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

it is terrible the teachers call parents over small things don't waste your time at this school!


Posted November 18, 2011

I am very pleased with this school. I find that the teachers are very invested in the students success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I am reading about how the school calls too much to the parents about petty things. Seems to me they are taking the time to inform the parents. That seems to be what they are supposed to do. Eastland is a smaller school setting which is great for middle school students. It is not the easiest time in a persons life.


Posted December 10, 2009

i feel that eastland is a nice school. the teacher are vary nice and has alot of pationts with us . i feel that school is not to mess around and have fun. i feel that fights are geting bad. i have one favorit teacher .............................
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2009

Actually what school doesn't have drama. I went to Eastland Jr. High and I was a great school. The teachers and staff was awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2009

I agree that there is too much drama at this school and the Principal does not handle it adequately. Way too many phone calls to parents regarding petty things, when parents are busy working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

I agree totally. The administration is lousy at resolving conflict issues between students. Teachers and administrators call parents for every petty thing, then even after they call they waste postage mailing a letter letting you know what they called for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I agree with the review below me. This school really isn't the best. Too much drama, too many fights and the best teachers do to try to stop this is detention, suspensions and *rarely* expolsions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

this school, isnt the best. i wouldnt say it is terrible but i deffinitly wouldnt put my child in this school. There is way to much drama and the adults dont handle it the way they should in my opinion!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

The teachers are great there. I love basically a lot of the teachers. Its just....the math there isnt great, and the school lunches, I only like certain ones
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2003

Eastland Jr. High offers a safe, fun, challenging learning environment for its students. Kids are taught to respect each other and their teachers and parents. The staff will assist you in anyway possible and any call that I have made to a teacher has been returned the same day, with a polite 'thank you' for caring enough to call about my child!! They have been fair in their assessments of my student and students are given plenty of opportunities to join after-school clubs, dances, homework help, etc. I couldn't be happier and if we could just get more parent involvement, this would be an even better academy of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 69%
African-American 23% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Paul Schummer
Fax number
  • (586) 445-5721

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18700 Frank St
Roseville, MI 48066
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 445-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Germaine Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI




Jefferson Middle School
Saint Clair Shores, MI



Faith Comm. Christian Academy
Saint Clair Shores, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT