Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 316 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2013

My Daughter Loves Upton and tells me so........ I have talked with people who moved from Upton and they miss the extra activities for the students and parents. As a parent I am grateful that my child is so happy at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

My husband and I believe Upton is a model school and perfect fit for our children. I know the quality of the school is a large part due to the outstanding leadership of our principal. As soon as you meet our principal you know that she is the most compassionate and caring person which makes it easy to entrust your children in that school. She has high but realistic expectations for students and staff. Coming to Upton was the best decision we made for our children. Glad to be back for another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

As a Parent of 3 kids, I truely love this school. I have never been involved in such a close group of people that care about kids before Upton. I highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a great school in Royal Oak!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

Being new to the district & new to public schools, I'm bitterly disappointed with our first experience here. The full day Kindergarten program, while great in theory, is over attended/under staffed and the focus is soley on behavior management via negative feedback and punitive reaction rather than focus on academic achievement with positive reinforcement. My child went from a self assured 5 year old who was very eager & excited to attend school to a child with low self esteem that hates school. Although I've had several communications and 'study group' meetings, my concern was not fully understood nor well received - therefore, no appropriate solution has been offered. If your child excels in one area, is weak in another and may not be able to IMMEDIATELY follow all rules, I would not recommend Upton. I plan to change schools ASAP & hope to repair the damage done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Thank you to Upton. My son was becoming a little overwhelmed with school and the principal and his teacher were able to work with us to work out a plan that would work. Great communication,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

The instructors, administration and involved parents do an EXCELLENT job at Upton. I have never regretted bringing my children from our home district to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

What a great family environment at Upton. My daughter was having some anxiety about coming to school and the principal was so understanding, helping us and being so encouraging to my daughter. Even on the days when there were tears the staff was very understanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

My child and grandchild attended Upton. It is a wonderful school and community. The current principal and teachers have high standards for the students and are an excellent team. The principal is exceptional in caring about students' safety and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

We just recently move from this school to a new district. In comparison to the new school my child attends, Upton is ranked very low. Principal lacks leadership, no extracurricular activates for lower grade levels. They need to start caring about the kids and not the politics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

My son has been at Upton now for 2 years and since the change in Principals it has gone down hill for sure! She doesn't seem to be able to handle the situations that occur and correct them at all. She and I have had it out many times so I get results from her but this is not how things should be done at school. Its all about the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

Upton **USED** to be a great school. Now it's a joke. The PTA is non-existant now. The principal is anti social! Glad my kids are almost done there! If you live in the Upton area...go to STARR...or anywhere ELSE. Sad to say that, but this school is just NOT what it used to be. The administration changed and it's killing its reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 69%
African-American 21% 18%
Multiracial 8% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Grzywack
Fax number
  • (248) 549-0013

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4400 Mandalay Ave
Royal Oak, MI 48073
Phone: (248) 549-4968

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eton Academy
Birmingham, MI




Addams Elementary
Royal Oak, MI



Pattengill School
Berkley, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT