Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
This is our first year at Upton. We have a Kindergarten student. We have been very impressed with the principal and our son's teacher. The entire team at Upton is committed to providing the best education possible for each student. Communication is excellent. My son, who didn't have the best pre school experience, LOVES going to school everyday. We appreciate the diversity at Upton too!

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Amazing teachers and principal! Strong curriculum. My husband and I are very pleased and my daughter is excelling there...and she loves it too!


Alfred E. Upton Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Janine Loveday goes above and beyond as a Kindergarten teacher! She responds quickly to all of the parents regarding any questions or concerns which leaves me, and many other parents that I have talked to in her class, feeling very confident and secure about leaving our children in her care. She will make a quick phone call or send a text to a parent even when it is not necessary, just to help a parent feel at ease. She is always willing to go the extra mile. She takes her job very seriously and is amazing with the children...a miracle-worker in my opinion!!

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
Great school. My kids (5th grade and 2nd grade) are excelling here! Great teachers and principal!

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
Upton is a fantastic school! They have high expectations for the students, and help them work to meet/exceed them. The staff works well together, under the leadership of Mr. Grzywack. I highly recommend this school.


Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school. Great teaching staff. Super place for your children to attend.

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 4

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
My son started Kindergarten this year. I love how the school made the transition easier for the parents and students. We had a Kindergarten Orientation and then a Meet and Greet with his classmates. It was nice that he got familiar with his classmates and his surroundings before throwing him in to the Lions Den. Other schools we were looking at didn't do too much to accommodate the incoming Kindergartner's or parents to make the transition easier.

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
My Daughter Loves Upton and tells me so........ I have talked with people who moved from Upton and they miss the extra activities for the students and parents. As a parent I am grateful that my child is so happy at this school!


Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 2

Posted April 12, 2013
- a parent
This is not the place to send a child that does well academically. They'll likely get pulled down to the lowest common denominator which is where the teachers are forced to spend their time. The kids doing well or even above the average are not given attention as the out of district or newly moved in from a nearby district kids bring down the whole school.

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
My husband and I believe Upton is a model school and perfect fit for our children. I know the quality of the school is a large part due to the outstanding leadership of our principal. As soon as you meet our principal you know that she is the most compassionate and caring person which makes it easy to entrust your children in that school. She has high but realistic expectations for students and staff. Coming to Upton was the best decision we made for our children. Glad to be back for another year.

Nearby schools

Alfred E. Upton Elementary School
4400 Mandalay Avenue, Royal Oak, MI  48073
(248) 549-4968
Last modified Alfred E. Upton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top