Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 334 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Royal Oak

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $121,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2014

St. Mary Catholic Grade School has been a true blessing to our family. We decided to take our children out of another local Catholic School because it was an unhealthy social environment. The principal is outside of the school during drop off and pick up everyday. She knows all of the kids on a first name basis, as do the other teachers. The Pastor of St. Mary Church is heavily involved with the school. He visits the children weekly and hugs my children every Sunday after mass. He is devoted and loving to all of the children. He has special way of engaging with families. St. Mary is very special and it is growing and thriving. It really is a hidden gem, tucked back in Downtown Royal Oak. My children are thriving academically, they are socially confident and they love learning about Jesus. I am so glad we made the change to move to this school. It was one of the best decisions we ever made for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2013

This school community is a gem inside the vibrant Royal Oak downtown area. The entire staff make this school the dream that it is along with Fr. Steve's wonderful involvement. If you're searching for a place where your child and your family will learn, be part of a small family feel and thrive through faith then you owe it yourself to check us out. Peace be with you and your decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

What truly makes this school special are the parents! They make the extra effort through events, fundraisers, and feedback to staff and faculty to help make the school experience extraordinary for their kids. The class sizes are small and intimate, every teacher in the school will know your child's name. The teaching staff is kind and committed. The new principal is hands on with the kids, loving, lots of hugs. Its truly a great school. The only downfall that is improving is technology and communication. The intent is there but the action needs to be faster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

We have 2 children currently enrolled and our 3rd will start preschool there next year. Amazing administration and teachers. Great new pastor that is so involved. They bring in specialists when needed to help students who are behind. Amazing parent involvement - and amazing kids (so respectful and well behaved in all grades). I can't say enough good things about this school community. Tuition is very reasonable too. It's certainly worth the investment to send your kids here if you can make it work financially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

This is a wonderful school, they cater to the needs, I mean it, This school, teachers, Principal, secretary, Parent Volunteers, cater to the needs of each and every child. Mr. Carnnachi and Mrs. Irwin are absolute jewels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

small school but with big expectations & a staff that goes above & beyond espec. in 1st-3rd grades. Buys matl just for one student etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

A little-known gem. The principal is amazing. This was a fall-back school if our son didn't get into the public magnet school, but we walked out of his office and said, 'No more calls, folks. We have a winner.' Very caring environment. Children are respectful. The teachers customized a curiculum for our child (who is reading ahead of his grade level). Well worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

St. Mary's school is the best school a child and a parent could ever hope for. St. Mary's has a wonderful staff who cares for each and every child as if they are their own. We feel very fortunate to be a part of St. Mary's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2004

This is one of the best kept secrets! The academics are solid. The atmosphere is small, diverse and very friendly. The leadership is solid. The spiritual and moral focus permeates throughout the school. The discipline and homework is consistent. Creativity is encouraged. Lots of project work and hands on activities. You feel welcomed as soon as you walk in the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 69%
Multiracial 6% 2%
African-American 5% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Gabriela Bala
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

628 South Lafayette Avenue
Royal Oak, MI 48067
Phone: (248) 545-2140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Burton Elementary School
Huntington Woods, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT