Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Royal Oak Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1049 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

-WAY Too many kids -WAY Too big of class sizes -Poor academics (children slipping through the cracks) -Poor parent teacher communication
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

We just moved here from down river area in Nov '13 2014 started some snow days. The school system made good calls with closing the school due to snow, ice/extreme cold weather. I was impressed with the communication from the distrcit with phone call alerts to keep me as a parent updated on the status. As a working parent, they offered services during snow days. All 3 of my children were pleased with the transition and came back from school happy. They were pleased at how helpful and kind other students were. We moved away from allen park schools and taylor to this district because of bullying. The choice to move in November is never easy for a parent, and I know it can be difficult for children. NOW, kids are not afraid to go to school and don't make excuses to avoid school. Royal Oak as a better demographic and has good support for parents, students in educational and developmental standpoint. My middle daughter has a learning disability and the school helped a lof with the transition we are going to work with the school to achieve goals. Well worth the move. Great schools in this district. It is finally nice to see my kids happy and looking forward to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

My children have attended Royal Oak Schools for the last six years and I wouldn't consider moving them to any other district. The service they receive is wonderful. One is very advanced and there are multiple opportunities for growth and challenge. One performs more in the normal range (with and IEP) and loves school and is truly engaged which is a blessing since she is so socially oriented. The school works hard to integrate kids with special needs and to teach tolerance for bullying. I would recommend this school with a heart beat. The teachers and staff and even the principal are very friendly and easy to communicate with.


Posted December 10, 2013

Very accomodating school for kids with special needs, good after school programs, good staff. Highly rated by the state of michigan compared to other schools in area. Satisfied with the way the school teachers and prinpcal and special ed staff worked with my son and his needs to make it a good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I have attended for 6th though 8th and loved it. There is a great energy from the classes and the teachers want you to feel comfortable to be yourself. The school brings in tons of programs and speakers that a relevant to us


Posted July 10, 2013

I hate it there all the kids act like there better than kids that have less money. They also give out tons of homework it usually takes my whole night to finish it all i believe its to much for 7th grade. the teachers are also very rude. But the teachers do very well at explaining things, not very well at explaining to a student individually though.


Posted February 5, 2012

Excellent school. My daughter came here from private elementary school and absolutely loves it! She is getting all A's and loves that they have anime club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

My child is in 8th grade and has attended ROMS since 6th grade. The bullying against lower classmen is terrible. The school administrators seem unable to get a handle on it. Another issue is with staff and student prejudices. My child (an African American) frequently hears the "n-word" from students. My child is a good student, with a 3.5 GPA. However, each year, many of the the teachers assume my child is less intelligent than white students, forcing my child to work harder to get good grades. Despite these issues, my child is receiving a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Wonderful school and staff! You couldn't ask for a better Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

My daughter has been getting Ds and Cs in elementary. She got help, but when she started Middle school, she was failing again. The tutoring help here really works! And the teachers understand every students lifestyle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

I think that it is a great school. It is large but its so easy to get used to. there is good amount of bullying but go try to find a middle school that doesn't have any! We are 11-14! I'm in my last year at ROMS and it was a great experiance that even if I had the chance I would never change!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

Wonderful school with caring teachers and an exceptional principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

Royal Oak Middle School is a huge asset to the district. My son has had such wonderful experiences in his two years at the school. The teaching is outstanding as well. Please remember that you get out of school what you put into it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

This school is absoultely horrible. The teachers don't care whether the children learn or not and the children are cruel and out of control. The 'zero tolerance bullying' rule is a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

I love my school! The kids here are fun and make everyday a new experience. The learning atmostphere could be better but no school is perfect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2009

The school is beautiful and the counselors are more than receptive to working with parents/students in regards to any problems. If someone is having an issue with being bullied or shunned, they should definately speak to a counselor or principal. If they are not made aware of a situation, they can't fix it! Not to mention (unfortunately) bullying/shunning goes on at most schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I think this school is too large. The physical updates to the school are beautiful. Yet the emotional atmosphere is terrible. Bullying and shunning run rampant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Royal Oak Middle School (ROMS) is such a beautiful school. They really fixed it up after the fire in the gym, which the gym is looking quite nice too. The teachers are wonderful, and very good at their job. But what concerns me is how large the school is... It is really easy to get lost and I even got a map and that wasn't much help. Other then that, I really enjoy the school, the teachers, and learning there. I already feel at home, and starting to get comfortable with changes. I do think that Chinese Club is a perfect experience to learn about a different culture.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

350 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

319 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

356 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 69%
Multiracial 8% 2%
African-American 6% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Todd Noonan
Fax number
  • (248) 435-6170

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

709 North Washington Avenue
Royal Oak, MI 48067
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 435-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT