Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Addams Elementary

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 442 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

Here were some of my issues: 1. 29 students in the class and basically zero assistance. I found out they had an assistant coming at one point, but it was while children were out for lunch and recess. They also did not welcome parent volunteers in the classroom. 2. Very limited outdoor recess by comparison to other schools. There were very limited toys in the classroom so indoor recess classroom recess was not sufficient in my opinion. 3. Way too many movies! My kindergartener watched Frozen, Toy Story 2, The Lorax and countless other smaller shows (not educational enough for school) AND You Tube videos in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

We have been extremely happy at Addams. The teachers are great, and very accessible after school hours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Addams is an amazing school! The teachers and other staff are phenomenal. Everyone goes above and beyond for the students! I couldn't be happier with the education my kids are getting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

We have been extremely happy at Addams. The staff is exceptional and caring, and the parent community is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Addams Elementary in Royal Oak is the best elementary school because we have a staff who goes above and beyond EVERY day! They continually amaze me with their dedication! That is not found in every school. And the amount of parent volunteers that we have surpasses any school I have ever been a part of. We all work so well in unison. The principal, the staff, the PTA and our volunteers. We have created a community that is second to none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We are very pleased with Addams after starting our kids at another elementary. The principal and teachers are very accessible for informal after-school chats, and kids are not stuck with their home room teachers all day. I think the kids like the variety and chance to interact with other teachers and kids not in their home room classes. By the way, the state of Michigan's latest report card shows Addams as the top elementary school in Royal Oak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Addams Elementary is the perfect blend of innovative teaching practices, nurturing staff, and thoughtful, researched curriculum. Our children receive lots of positive feedback and attention. They feel safe and happy, while receiving differentiated instruction. The principal sets a wonderful tone; the teachers are hard-working, dedicated, and knowledgeable; the families are supportive and involved. Our family is incredibly grateful for the high quality education our children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My kids go to Addams in Royal Oak, the teachers, students and education level is excellent.Parents support the school with asisting with activities and fund raising. my kids do not want t stay home when they are sick. Love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

Principal leadership, teacher direction and level of caring, parent involvement. All outstanding...and a great PTA! Children who are above average, average or below average (grade level expectations) are evaluated and worked woth in groups. A wonderful way to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

In previous years, I would have given Addams high marks. This year with a new principal, I am worried about the direction of the school. Principal doesn't show a clear direction on how to maintain the pod system or teacher morale in the face of budget cuts and growing class sizes. We love the pod system and teachers. Parents are supportive of the school without being overly interferring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

Addams offers a dynamic learning environment with a very hands on, welcoming and organized PTA in addition to friendly and involved staff. I chose Addams over our district school and could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

Principal Judy retired after the 2009-2010 school year. The pod system is still in place, but there are some differences from before, especially for children who were formerly allowed to work above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Phenomenal teachers, a dedicated and proactive principal, and the best damned families I've ever had the pleasure of meeting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

The school is fantastic. The teachers are wonderful and have many parents that volunteer to help all the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Involved PTA, great Pod system, involved principal that know what's happening in her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

Wonderful. The Principle, Judy, runs the school as it should. The staff is great for the most part. It's really nice overall considering the state of schools these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

Judy is by far the most professional principal in the Royal Oak School District. The POD system teaches our children how to be responsible and independent. Two of my children are advanced and the POD system keeps them learning at the proper level with out boredom. The only down side is the lack of focus by the district on any school other than Northwood. Our school has old playground equipment and not enough of it because all of our tax dollars have gone to Northwood and Royal Oak High School. Addams and Keller are exceptional schools in the Royal Oak District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2009

The principal and teachers are wonderful and compassionate. This is a school that teaches to the individual student at their level, along with the class as a whole. A true community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

Great prinicpal and great teachers especially in the upper grades. I love how we rotate classes and it is really easy to make friends here.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 69%
Multiracial 8% 2%
African-American 7% 18%
Asian 5% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jane Flarity-Gram
Fax number
  • (248) 288-3144

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2222 West Webster Rd
Royal Oak, MI 48073
Phone: (248) 288-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pattengill School
Berkley, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT