Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Saginaw Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 321 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Saginaw

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $58,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $635.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2014

This school have the best environment for my kids to grow up with excellent teachers that motivates them to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

In September 2012, I started my first year at NSCA. I was happy to be there and away from my old school. I loved how they taught, most of them would come up to me personally and ask me if I need help, how there was only 20 students to a classroom compared to 50 kids to a classroom at my old school. I didn't like how they treated the teachers there, most kids were rude to our art teacher, so she quit, they fired two of my teachers, and I've had over five teachers for the same class in the whole school year. Besides that and the uniform, I had a fun time at NSCA.


Posted November 19, 2012

This school fires good teachers. Several were fired last year and now another good teacher is fired. This creates an unstable environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

North Saginaw Charter Academy is an outstanding, tuition free, school offering Full-Day K-8th Grade. I have been with the school for ten years, and find that teaching children is a wonderful opportunity and priviledge. North Saginaw Charter Academy's emphasis is on Achieving Academic Excellence, Supporting Moral Focus, Strengthening Parental Partnership, and Reinforcing Student Responsibility. Our goal is to prepare students for future success in college and life's challenges by helping them in establishing a strong academic and moral foundation. To learn more about North Saginaw Charter Academy and schedule a tour contact the school office at 989-249-5400.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 7, 2010

North Saginaw Charter Academy a wonderful school!! As a parent of a third grade child, I have seen significant growth in my child in the last 3 years. My child is being challenged academically and socially each day. NSCA provides much support to kids and parents. The teachers stay in constant communication and celebrate my child's successes!! Thank you NSCA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

At North Saginaw Charter Academy we offer a tuition free education that cannot be beat. I have been with this school since it opened and we have a commited, dedicated staff. Through differentiated instruction each child is given the attention, encouragement, and the opportunity to excel. With a new leadership starting our school year we are looking forward to helping your child achieve and accomplishing great things together! Be sure to give our school your consideration. We would love for your family to join our family at North Saginaw Charter Academy and have all of your students K-8 in one building! Call our school office at 989-249-5400 for additional information and a school tour.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 5, 2010

My daughter enjoys attending NSCA. The teachers give each student individualized attention and track their learning to ensure that each student is being taught at their level. I am amazed at the things my daughter has learned and remembers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

I am super pleased with the education my daughter is receiving at N. Saginaw Charter Academy (NSCA). I don't think there is a better school out there for a free quality education. Not only is she learning the basics and beyond she is learning how important having good character is in the real world. With the moral focus program it is almost like getting a procial school education in a public FREE school. The teachers go above and beyond to help EVERY child acheive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

I've been with North Saginaw Charter Academy for about eight years now and our teachers amaze me with their dedication and constant setting of higher goals for students to reach. When I walk into a staff meeting I am constantly inspired by their ideas and passion for teaching. As a staff we are a faimly and it is our goal to add you to our family...together growing and inspiring our childrent (students) go successed in their education. Testimonies: from time to time parents have called us letting us know how much NSCA made a difference in the lives of their children. We've had calls from ther schools (SASA, Saginaw Township Schools, etc) letting us know that student transfering from NSCA score the highest or are better mannered. I am proud of this school....I love my school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2010

North Saginaw Charter Academy offers a tuition free education that is second to none. With the commitment of dedicated professionals, each child is given the attention, encouragement, and opportunity to excel. We're beginning a new day at NSCA. Under new school leadership, we are looking forward to boosting our enrollment and moving forward. Be sure to give our school your consideration. We would love for your family to join our family at North Saginaw Charter Academy! Call our school office at 989-249-5400 for additional information.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2008

My son will be attending 1st grade, after completing Kindergarten at NSCA. I find that the teachers and staff are very supportive of the children, the parents and each other. The teachers I have come into contact with love their job. There are around 600(?) kids in the school, and the principle knows my son by his first name!! The discipline is pretty strict, which is a good thing, but for a very active and easily distracted boy, this can be a challenge. The staff care and are willing to help my son understand, which I like. The kids seem to like the school and react well to the excellerated academics. I talked to parent whose daughter goes to another Saginaw township school, their kindergartner had not started to read yet. My son was reading little books to his classmates by the end of the year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

My son attended this school for the 1st grade for the school year of 2006-2007. Just like what the other parent said in their post. It is so true that they put the students at a disadvantage with the public schools. I pulled my son out of this school after one year and he went to the public school. He was behind the whole year. Now he is just now catching up. This school is run just like a business they want you to sell something every month. I need to put the kids first or this school is going to be in trouble!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

We took our children out of this school this year. Their academics put them behind the public school system; particularliy in math, language arts, computers and spanish. The teachers are caring, but the way the school is run by a company instead of a regular school system left us with a lot of good talk from administraton (liked to tell us what we wanted to hear) and little substance. I am glad we made the decision to remove our children. They are now catching up to other students in the public school they currently attend. Be aware of what is being taught compared to other schools (academics).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

i used to go to this school. By far it was the greatest school ever. I loved the teachers there very one on one with you. they go out of their way to help you with anything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

I need to know what my daughters school supply list is but other than that this is an excellent school for my chidren to go to I feel that my chidren are safe and well taught so thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

My daughter attended this school for K-1st grade and I recommened this school to parents who would lke their child to be in a school of diversity! I believe this school, the teachers, and staff are excellent at this aschool and they ensure a great education. The academics in the classroom are not only good, but they teach the students to become great citizens in the community... I highly recommend this school for many....the only thing I wish they had was a lunch room. The students have to eat in the classrooms without talking and I think lunchtime is a time to release some energy so that was one thing I was against. Most of all, NSCA is a great school and if you are thinking about sending you child to this school I'm sure you will enjoy it just as much as your child does--lots of parental involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

This school has done more for my child academically in 2 months than any school has in the 2 years he's been in school. All of his grades have improved to a's and b's and he is finally excited to get up in the morning and get to school! his teachers are always there when i have a question or concern and they e-mail me almost daily to inform me of homework or just to fill me in on what kind of day he had...Good or bad. I strongly recommend nsca to any one who wants their child to succeed and become a better person because of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

I highly recommend NSCA. My son has been a student there since 4th grade and now he is in the 8th grade. I really wish they had a high school. Their academics is fantastic. NSCA is morally sound and well structured. The athletic department is the best, teaching the students good sportmanship, which is at the top of list. I would recommend NSCA to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

I highly recommed this school, our child went here from the 6th grade until he graduated of this year 2005, he cared for the teachers as the teachers cared for him, they seen he had areas that needed worked on and they were there for his needs, great Principal our son is really going to miss her caring in every area in a child life, As you first walk in that door you will see a friend sitting the secretary greeting you with the best smile, than you will feel at home, just as your kids will feel at home and safe until they are back with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

Our children have attended this school for the last 4 years and we love it! It offers a challenging academic and morally based cirriculum. Our middle child has some educational struggles and they have been more than willing to offer any and all accomadations that might help her in any way! Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
7%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 60% 18%
White 22% 69%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 183%N/A48%
Female 252%N/A48%
Male 248%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathy Williams
Fax number
  • (989) 249-5800

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2332 Trautner Dr
Saginaw, MI 48604
Website: Click here
Phone: (989) 249-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT