Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hemmeter Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
I don't think so. Every one I talk to they tell me how you must be somebody in order for ur child to attend this school

Hemmeter Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Hemmeter offers a positive environment for learning. The staff is very hands on and pays attention to detail regarding individual children and their learning abilities. This school not only teaches academics but life skills that will carry thru to relationships at home and future jobs.


Hemmeter Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Great work Mr. Bailey, Lisa, teachers, parents and HPTC for keeping Hemmeter one of the best schools in the country!

Hemmeter Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The principal is very hands on with setting an example to the students for the type of behaviors that are acceptable. I've been at this school for 4 years and I have never seen or witnessed bad behavior aside from a child or two who has ADHD but even so, I would not consider that bad behavior, just hyper active. Even the children with ADHD or learning disabilities at this school I know the families and staff are very invested in helping all kids succeed.

Hemmeter Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Hemmeter is an amazing school. The staff and families ALL are invested as a community to good behaviors and excelled learning. Rarely if ever will you see bad behavior or bullying at this school. This school is smaller than most so I think the adult/student ratio is very good. Only 2 classrooms per grade usually. Many if not most of the parents are involved in developing great afterschool programs such as running club, lego club, spanish lessons, painting, destination imagination to name a few run by parents. 1000% recommend it.


Hemmeter Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
What an amazing place. This is my sons first year and I am so thankful that we moved him to hemmeter. What a great culture! Every single person that I have spoken with is completely dedicated to the advancement of the students. A highly motivated principal and staff have created an environment that is fun and educational. Beware if your child does not want to work hard at learning then I would not recommend this school. The does have a large amount of homework every night, which is fine with me, but it will take up an hour or so every night.

Hemmeter Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
Hemmeter offers traditional and accelerated learning programs. Hemmeter has a great staff. The students are well-disciplined and there are a few if any bullies in the entire school. The environment is wonderful and inspires a great learning experience for all. Students have so many opportunities when they attend Hemmeter. There are many afterschool activities for the children to participate. Chess, sports, destination imagination, lego club are just a few. Wow!!

Hemmeter Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2005
- a parent
Hemmeter Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers use various learning methods. The arts and sciences are taught using many enrichment activities. Violin lessons are taught at school! Parent involvement is fantastic. Children are taught respect toward others and are held accountable for practicing it every day. Extracurricular activities abound, from sports to talent development activities like Destination Imagination. Every child gets individual attention in this community school.


Hemmeter Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2004
- a parent
Hemmeter is a relatively small school - with only two classrooms for each grade - a talent development class (acceptance into this class is dependent upon testing and recommendations) and a 'regular' class. We have children in both. Regardless of the class, the teachers are excellent! They go above and beyond to individualize their curriculum to motivate, challenge and foster each child's gifts. The Principal, Mr. Ron Helmer, maintains an appropriate perspective of the antics of the elementary school crowd. He is calm and takes advantage of those 'teaching moments'. My husband and I have consistently found that the staff and teachers enthusiastically pursue a partnership with parents to ensure that our children's educational and social needs are met. Significantly, parent involvement in activities, fund-raising and enrichment opportunities is very strong - more the norm, than the exception. If you come, expect to get involved!

Nearby schools

Hemmeter Elementary School
1890 Hemmeter Road, Saginaw, MI  48638
(989) 797-1832
Last modified Hemmeter Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top