Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shields Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
They are taught to begin with the end in mind and make a plan to reach their goals.

Shields Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Children are taught to seek first to understand then be understood. The children are helpful, caring, and support one another in the classroom. The VIKES program for support of children with autism is a perfect example of teaching compassion and understanding.


Shields Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
This school has implemented basic personality trait teaching from the 7-habits as well as core values of "the leader in me".

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
The teachers go above and beyond to provide the services each child needs. The base camps are fantastic at exposing each child to educational areas according to their areas of need and their strengths.

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Shields is a great place for my children to learn. The teachers are sensitive, focused and motivated to help our children be someone great. I feel that not only are my children getting a great education but they are also safe and nurtured while they are there. I love to volunteer at the school because the atmosphere is so fun and exciting. Each and every day I look forward to asking my children what they did at school. Shields Elementary is the best!!!


Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
This school is a wonderful place for children to learn. The entire staff is very qualified and happy about teaching the kids. Every aspect of the children's day is made positive and conducive to learning. I would definitely recommend this school to any parent.

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Shields takes care of the students needs the best they can. I am thankful to send my kids to such a caring environment. All the teachers, lunch aides,lunch servers, secretaries, janitors and principal have a special place in their heart for all the children no matter what grade that child is in. Thank you !!!!!!!!!!

Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 boys that attend Shields one in 1st grade and one in 4th grade. They both loves the school and teachers and staff. They go to school happy in the morning and are excited to tell me about their day when I pick them up after school. The teachers send home letters to keep you up to date on what is going on and you're always welcome to call, email or visit the teachers and school. Last year I had an issue the I talked to the principal about and within 2 days things were changed to make it a better experience for my child. I love everything about the school and staff. I volunteer there regularly to help in the classrooms and anywhere I'm needed. I always feel welcomed and appreciated. I makes me feel good knowing my kids are in good hands when I send them to school and that they are learning a lot. I'm so happy in fact that I drive my kids to and from school everyday because we don't live in the school district, we live in Hemlock which is about 10-15 minutes away. So very happy with the school and what it has to offer!


Shields Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
Love this school! The parent participation is outstanding & the staff is amazing! I actively help with many fundraising efforts knowing the funds raised are put towards our kids & their education!

Shields Elementary School 3

Posted June 01, 2010
- a parent
This school does not deal with bullying- they ignore it and hope it goes away.

Nearby schools

Shields Elementary School
6900 Stroebel Road, Saginaw, MI  48609
(989) 921-4701
Last modified Shields Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top