Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Swan Valley High School

Public | 9-12 | 651 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

I'm a student here. I honestly hate this school... The teachers can be nice, if you're lucky enough to get one of the few good ones. However, the teachers here really don't actually teach... Or not very well, at least. I come to school to get an education, and that's what I expect to receive, but Swan Valley simply cannot offer me that.


Posted May 25, 2011

I graduated in 2007 and if were to do it all over again I would go to SVHS all over again. One of the posters below mentioned that SV does not prepare students for college, this may be a little true but i have not met one person in college that was truly prepared for what it requires. I have found myself further ahead in many of my subjects in college so I do believe that the education I received definitely helped. In fact a girl i graduated with interviewed at Harvard Medical school, so you can't tell me that SV does little to prepare us for college. I believe the most important lessons you learn in high school are those about life and how to interact with others and work as a team which is big now a days in the workforce. As for athletics, yes it is a big part of the high school but it should be, it promotes school spirit and brings people together who may not have had the chance to interact with each other. The teachers at SV were always willing to help students before, during, or after school. Finally, the staff and principals do a good job in keeping order and a good learning environment throughout the year. No school is perfect but I definitely enjoyed my time at SV.


Posted August 24, 2009

Im currently a freshman at svhs. I love it! the teachers are nice and the upperclassmen are very helpful when you need to know where your classes are! sv offers a lot more ap classes now then 2005 i guess. Im in geometry a year before some of my classmates.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2009

I can understand some of the views stated below, however, believe it is only fair to state that high school, like all of life, is what you make of it. My daughter put everything she could into her years at SVHS and I believe, in return is getting a lot out of it. She was accepted into excellent colleges across the nation and received superb scholarships for her accomplishments while at SVHS. When she asked for more challenges, they were facilitated. The strong letters of recommendation from the teachers who knew her intimately I feel were very valuable (compared to larger HS's where I'm sure letters often sound 'rubber-stamped'). The principal and counselor went above and beyond to make her experience the best it could be and the transition to college successful. SVHS curriculum is much more rigorous now. Has served her well in university.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Its funny when people think that athletics is all a school requires in order to be the best. Swan Valley has great athletics, yes, but that isn't everything, especially when you enter the real world outside the halls of Swan Valley. I have heard numerous times from friends how unprepared they were when they entered college. We all go to different colleges and we all struggled so hard in the beginning to get the good grades we somehow so easily got in high school. The easiest things, like study habits, were the hardest to grasp; it was as if we had never been taught them in the first place. The faculty are amazing, don't get me wrong, and I honestly enjoyed my time in Swan Valley School District. However, if I had to do it all over again, I definitely would have rather attended a school to help prepare me better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2008

For a school in this area, it is average. Many people from the Saginaw area seem to be blinded to the world around them; Unless you are going to Delta or SVSU, Swan Valley does very little to prepare their students for college. One AP class was available my senior year (2005), this is unacceptable, when college classmates of mine who went to schools with a similar census took all AP classes their senior year. All in all, there is way too much emphasis on sports and they practically give out 4.0's without preparing students for college. The past couple of years there have been Valedictorians numbering somewhere from 3-8. How can SVSU still give free tuition to these students when they are clearly not earning these grades?
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2007

it is a verry awsom school ive gone there for 4 years now and i love it
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
30%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

100%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

">95%"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 8% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 Ohern Rd
Saginaw, MI 48609
Website: Click here
Phone: (989) 921-2401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Michael J McGivney
Saginaw, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT