Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nouvel Catholic Central High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Saginaw

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2012

This school is a joke. They have 0 guidance or at least the new counselor has no idea what she is doing and she is a WITCH. The classes are a joke and do not prepare you for college or life. Don't let your child full victim to the reputation because once they hit college reality will set in.


Posted August 23, 2009

Nouvel is recognized both locally and statewide for achievements on and off the sports field. Students have great pride in their school here! Parents and teachers are very involved.....some say 'too much'... but anywhere parents are involved leads to a positive result. We care and they know it. We are watching and they know it. This school is effective. It is a great school for college prep. It is a school which offers students a path to success..... All in a christian setting. A child who is enrolled here has a true head start. We currently have 4 family students enrolled here! They are all liking it and doing well.....We are thankful to have a school like NCC in this area......Go Panthers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

The Nouvel sports programs are the best. In the last 5 years Nouvel football and many of the other sports programs have led to STATE level championships. My son graduated in 2007 and will be starting his sophomore year at University of Michigan and was accepted to a number of other schools. He was well prepared for college. On my son's first day as a freshman at Nouvel, a young lady (total stranger to my son) who I later found out was a Nouvel senior offered to show my son and another freshman to their classrooms and lockers. Some of these other reviews are totally out of line with our experience of Nouvel, and we were there for the entire 4 years. Nouvel was my son's best school experience in his school career. He graduated with a 4.12 and made many friends that he continues to see and socialize with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

I currently attend Nouvel. I do not like it for many reasons. Coming from a public school, and not a 'feeder' area Catholic school, I had no friends when I arrived. The school is very cliquey and it was not easy to make friends. The classes are really easy, I take all honors and am a level ahead of my grade in three classes. I hardly even try and I easily get a GPA of 3.8. The school is too competitive, discouraging students to try a new sport-- only the super athletes get recognition. Overall, I do not like Nouvel. Unless you have a child who excels at sports, I would not go of my way to send a child there. If you're in the Saginaw area I would recomend Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy (public+much better curriculum- you need to pass a test to get accepted) or Heritage High School,
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

I attended Nouvel and I'm very pleased with the education I received. When I went on to college, the skill set that I had picked up from Nouvel and the education that people had received from public schools was night and day. Nouvel focuses on preparing the student for college and the working world. Their sports program is a force in itself. They field top competing teams in everything; football, baseball, soccer, volleyball, wrestling...you name it and they're competitive. The only negative of the school is that student were very clicky. Once you found yourself in a group of people you pretty much stayed in that group for all four years.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2007

I am happy with the overall education and teacher to student ratio. However, The overall attitude of the students are cocky and rude!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

Nouvel is not a very good school. Their sports program is not very good and their grading system is so easy anyone could pass an honors class.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 7, 2004

I have a current student at Nouvel. He did not come from one of the local catholic 'feeder' schools but has easily adapted to the school. The students are extremely accepting and friendly. The staff are caring and involved. This school requires above average parent involvement and has a tremendous sports program. Although uniforms are required, the students seem very comfortable with the dress code and I believe it equalizes the students. There is alot of school spirit and the environment is a safe and controlled one. There is much focus on religion and students attend school masses at least monthly. While I am of a baptist background, I find the overall christian philosophy and environment to be 'all faith' friendly. I would highly recomment this school to parents wishing to provide a quality eduation to students. Especially those with college in their future. Nouvel more than prepares students to continue higher education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 3% 19%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Hoving
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (989) 797-6603

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Saginaw
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2555 Wieneke Road
Saginaw, MI 48603
Phone: (989) 791-4330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Michael J Mcgivney
Saginaw, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT