Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carrollton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 666 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2013

From top to bottom I feel both of my children's personalities can be expressed freely, their development has truly been amazing and they are such amazing individuals due to the nature of the school. I really hope that parents in the area know what Carrollton Elementary can do for their child's intellectual development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

Great warm atmosphere provided here. It is a safe and enriching learning environment with a community feel to it. Both of our sons attend here and it has been great for them. I am glad they are going to school at a place where the faculty actually cares about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

This truly is a great school! My son has been attending here for a couple years now and just completed the first grade. The students and my child really just thrive here and have made good academic progress all around. There is great communication with the teachers and it is a very warm and welcoming environment there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

Go Cavs! Moved but stayed!!!!! Since 1971 my siblings and i have always lived in carrollton. We've always attended carrollton schools, and don't know anything else. My children (5), ages 17, 15, 6, and twins 5,5, at the time, attended carrollton too. Until= I moved in the winter of 2006 to the city. I was appauled at the lack of compability, compassion, personal involvement, attentiveness, and especially organizational skills of saginaw township and city schools staff. After meeting with them= I actually came home afterwards (to my new home) regrettably moving from Carrollton, crying uncontrollably, calling Carrollton school offices and staff. They each calmed me down, as I was transferred from office to the teachers my children had just almost left. Talking to the staff, was like talking to family! My children stayed and still do till this day. Carrollton is family. We're proud to be a Cavs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

I think Carrollton Schools are an exceptional choice for children.The academics are great taught by a staff who are vey hands on. I also love the way everyone looks out for one another from the teachers to the parent to the students. The school has been a blessing to me and my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

I really think that Carrollton has something really great that other schools can not offer their students. Carrollton has the teachers that take the time and effort to make sure that each and every student can be on the same page. If a student has any trouble the teachers are go up and over and beyond most other school teachers. The teachers go out of their way to stay communicated with parents and gardens which is the most important key in student achievements and success. The parents need to have more Involvement in the sports, plays, and need to play their part in the students achievements, success and extracurricular activites
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

academically is okay extracurricular activities are low parent involvement is minimal Offers a great child day care program and after school program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

This is has great teachers and there education levels at this school is great. They have great sports and academic programs and arts and other extracurricular activities and that and there level of great response to students are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

Both of my children have attended Carrollton Elementary since preschool. The staff has always been friendly and welcoming. The teachers are willing to work with parents to improve the child's educational experience. There are reading and math specialists on board to assist those students who need help as well as a variety of reading/math oriented activities throughout the year. From my personal experience, the staff of Carrollton Elementary goes above and beyond to create an environment conducive to learning. Go Cavaliers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

My Grandson went to Carrollton Elementary School from Kindergarten through Second Grade. Two of his teachers were outstanding. They sent him notes, kept him involved in school, took pictures of school functions and gave them to him, sent him notes over the summer and when he transferred to another school when his family moved he was able to transfer with ease and comfortable with his knowledge base.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 69%
Hispanic 27% 6%
African-American 25% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Marc Jaremba
Fax number
  • (989) 754-2427

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3211 Carla Dr
Saginaw, MI 48604
Website: Click here
Phone: (989) 754-2425

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Stone School
Saginaw, MI


St. Helen School
Saginaw, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT