Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elmwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 451 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2014

The new principle Mr. Fringer is awesome he has already made many positive improvements in the little time he has been there. The teachers and staff are very patient and caring with the students and the support staff are always on hand when needed.So happy we decided to send our daughter to Elmwood!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2014

Elmwood Elementary is a CLASS A SCHOOL. On Aug 27,2014,my family and I had a house fire where everything was damanged. Thank God no one was hurt. We were blessed to have been put up in a hotel in Troy, MI while we were waiting on our home to be repaired. This became an inconvience and I had to put my child in AM and PM Latchkey. This was something that I was definitely having a challange paying for. The Latchkey Leadership called me in the gym stockroom while I was walking away in ALMOST TEARS saying"OMG this is another bill I will have to have GOD assist me with in this time of need". She said give me until tomorrow and I will give you a call. She took out the time to call the South Lake School Board, who approved me for FREE LATCHKEY while we are going throug our challenge. She also got the Counselor involved. We have been approved for gas cards, socks, groceries, underwear, and personal needs for my daughter. LETS NOT FORGET FREE LUNCH. I first and foremost give all the Glory to God, however I thank him for using Southlake Staff and Management as vessels to help me and my family through this challenge. THANK YOU SO MUCH(SOUTH LAKE DISTRICT)ELMWOOD ELEMENTARY & STAFF
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

A great school in a great district! My child has blossomed here and due to the dedication of her teachers, she has become an advanced reader and excels in math. There are fun after school programs and I'm impressed with the quality of education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

My son is looking forward to the accelerated program this year and we are happy this great program is housed at Elmwood. All in all, I am not a fan of the school of choice policy, but Elmwood has adapted and strengthened their curriculum over the years to maintain highly valued education standards. The IB World School designation attests to that hard work. Elmwood is really a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Elmwood is a wonderful school with a very diverse population. The school has a tremendous PTA association which I unfortunately am unable to participate in this year due to work obligations, but I try to attend all events that are scheduled. The staff are courteous and respond quickly to the needs of the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

We have found Elmwood's great staff to be highly supportive and motivated. The teachers are very dedicated. We see them arrive early in the morning and leave late in the day. Thank you for all of your hard work!!! It does not go unnoticed. Love all the family events throughout the year, by the way...fun stuff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

Teachers make this a wonderful school! I believe that they truly care about the students. If your child falls befind they have them caught up right away! They have tutors before school for math. The education is top notch. I have chosen my rating based on this, because it is really what matters most. The following gripes are simply so that maybe they will fix it and so that you know that things are not all roses. Every school has its problems. The morning and afternoon drop off/pick up is absolutly terrible. I'm sure it will take a horrible event to get it to changed, as adminstration is unable to control/ fix this problem. Also, plan on sending your childs lunch to school everyday as they seem to feed our children the worst/cheapest possible options. Maybe they will wake up and discover that children learn better when they eat better. They also make a huge profit from their cheap and gross lunches. They give the kids two options. The first rotates and the second in nacho chips with cheese dip and a cheese stick..everyday for two years now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My five children attended Elmwood Elementary School many years ago. But I am indebted to the school even today for the thirst for knowledge Elmwood instilled in each of my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

As a parent, I feel that my child is getting the best education in these tuff times. I feel very confident of the job that the teacher and staff are doing. I am glad that my child is in the hands of people who care about the job they are preforming and the kids that they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

Elmwood is a fine school, that any parent would be proud to say their child goes to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 69%
African-American 19% 18%
Multiracial 8% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Michael Fringer
Fax number
  • (586) 445-4338

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22700 California Street
Saint Clair Shores, MI 48080
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 435-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Stevens T. Mason Elementary School
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI


Ferry Elementary School
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI


Avalon Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI



Harmon Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT