Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Lake Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 443 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

Great school to send your kid who is tardy every single day of the school year. I know of a student who is at least a half hour late every single day. Just refuses to go on time. Yet this school has not notified the truant officer, nor have they given any consequence to this child. MIchigan has a mandatory attendance law that is not enforced at this school. I know personally of other students in the district who were reported for truancy and made to go to court for having been late less than this student has been. Even the parent has not been made accountable. So if you have a student who just plain refuses to be on time for school South Lake Schools is the place to be. They just don't care if your kid goes to school or not.


Posted December 20, 2013

Another magnet for Detroit students. The kids are rude to the teachers and the Lead Administrator who I assume came from Detroit as well is rude to staff and students. My neighbor told me that she goes out of her way to harrass the older, higher paid, experienced teachers in order to get them to retire so she can save a few bucks for the district. I'm taking my child back to a NHA Detroit Charter school where the buildings are clean and the students are well behaved. I thought I was getting out of the hood by going to South Lake. Wrong on all accounts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

My daughter attended SLMS for two years. She loved it and has moved on to SLHS and she loves that school as well. My son has been at SLMS for 2 years. He has been in the band program and his really happy there. There isn't a teacher in that school that isn't willing to help a student. I am glad we moved to this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

I have two daughters. Both have had wonderful experiences and excelled at SLMS. They have bonded with the excellent staff, made wonderful friends, and received excellent educations. The South Lake district in general is a special place with special teachers and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

Another magnet for Detroit students. Dumbing down the school work to maintain the state test scores is a bad idea.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

I was nervous to send my child to middle school, but I have been very happy here. My son loves it. The teachers are great and both principals are excellent with dealing with any behavior issues. It is a diverse school, but my husband and I value this....the world is a diverse place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

All three of my students have attended South Lake Middle School. I have a 6th grader there now. The teachers there have helped him so much. They have worked with him on organization and brought him up in reading too! They offer support classes for kids who struggle in reading. We have found these to be great so far! My other son was in an advanced program and he felt very challenged. The homework work load was more than the average classes but it prepared him for high school. I understand people say that there are behavior issues there, but they are no worse than any other middle school. The teachers handle it and there is a program set up for students who do not follow the rules. If you are curious about the school, go check it out. They welcome parents. You will see that the teachers are caring, the classes are organized and the kids can get help if they need it. Teachers come in early and stay late to help kids. I don't think you will be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

It is not the teachers, it is the non resident students and the students who did not grow up in St. Clair Shores and have parents who rent in the city only. They are uncivilized, disrespectful and say "ni##a" every other word all through out school hallways, classes and lunch periods. We had to send our child to the next district even though we live less than a mile from South Lake. Open enrollment is a double edged sword. Jefferson Middle School, by the way is Utopia compared to South Lake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

As a graduate of South Lake, I am disgusted at what the district has become. There is a serious lack of discipline, and although there are a FEW exemplary teachers, most are scatter-brained incompetents. my son went to Pare elementary, which the district closed. You could not have asked for a better school; apparently the success of Pare was a thorn in the side of politically motivated administrators who obviously abhore parental participation in district decision making. My son, an honor student, consistently complains of the frustration of students disrupting class, and teachers who ignore the problem, teachers that are unorganized(last card marking, they needed three extra days to get report cards out, as most teachers were unprepared to issue grades); imagine not meeting your deadlines at work! MEAP scores, fundraisers,and social events seem to be the priority, rather than education. i came to this website searching for alternatives, and i suggest anyone who is concerned about their children being prepared to tackle the competitive job force in a few short years pass South Lake Middle School by! this is proof positive that education reform is crucial in this state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

parent involvement? Not at this school. When I offer to volunteer my time theres nothing for me to do. Its my daughters 1st year here and theres always subs. Whats going on here?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

Hi! I m in first year of SLMS and it is going great. I mean yes, any school is going to have fights no school is perfect. All i am saying is south lake is a good distict and SLMS is a great school. I have been in the district since I've been in 1st grade and it has done nothing but geet better over the years.


Posted April 1, 2010

So I am attending south lake middle school right now! Yess the teachers are great, well most of them, but the most of the students are horrible and make our school look even wrose then it is! I have been attending South Lake since i was in kindergarten and I am now in eighth grade, and i decide to switch disstricts cause south lake is not a good one! Sorry Cavaliers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

So happy with this school--the teachers really care and there are opportunities here that are not available in other school districts like Spanish and Mandarin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

The school could be better. some or so to say 1/3 of the students dont even respect the teachers. I have been thinking if switching schools next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

My son just entered this school through the school of choice program and he loves it. He says the teachers are very helpful and cool. I'm very happy and excited for him and he is doing very well. Keep up the good work! Teachers stay in touch with our youth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

SLMS is a wonderful learning environment for students! The teachers are enthusiastic and extremely professional. The structure uses the team concept, with integrated subjects and an overall theme. I once did a college project designing an ideal school. To my happy surprise, South Lake Middle School encompasses most of what I had imagined for my perfect school in a perfect world.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 69%
African-American 41% 18%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lauren Wells
Fax number
  • (586) 778-3151

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21621 California St
Saint Clair Shores, MI 48080
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 435-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joan Of Arc Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Heart Academy
Harper Woods, MI


Parcells Middle School
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI



Kelly Middle School
Eastpointe, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT