Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Lake High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 673 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

My son is having a wonderful experience @ SLHS. He is in AP classes, very involved with many clubs and activities at school. The princpal and asst. principal are wonderful people who work very hard for all students. We are definitely at family @ South Lake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

Wonderful community! Great teachers! Love it!! Principal and Assistant Principal are the best! We are a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

This is my daughters first year at SLHS and she loves it. She came from SLMS another school that she talks fondly of. As a parent I can't be happier with my choice of sending my children to the South Lake Middle and High Schools. The HS offers a number of after school clubs and sports. Ms. Kennedy (Principal) and Mr. Fringer (Vice Principal) always make themselves available to parents. I have met a number of parents who are friendly and support the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

South Lake is filled with TONS of wonderful students excelling in academics, sports and community involvement. The staff is so supportive and one of the most involved staffs I have heard of. The parents are exceptional - always willing to help out. I have 3 kids that have gone through / are going through from beginning to end and wouldn't trade it for anything. I am proud to be a Cavalier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

Its a shame of what this school has become..thanks administrators! School of choice was a great idea!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

South Lake is probably one of the worst schools in St. Clair shores if not the worst. Many teachers aren't skilled, teachers miss numerous amount of school days.


Posted April 27, 2013

This school like many others in SCS has gone seriously downhill because of "school of choice". Throwing open the gates to people who do not live in the shores has resulted in lower test scores and more disruptions in the classroom. If you want to take a chance with your child and be part of some cumbaya social experiment gone wrong, this is the place. Be warned, teachers are writing some of the favorable reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

Our South Lake experience has been great! From the benefits of a multicultural student population, to AP and standard curriculum, to sporting and extracurricular events, we are highly pleased! The expectations and quality of education are demonstrated from the principal, staff and students. If your son or daughter desires to succeed, and not merely slide by, i recommend South Lake High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

I heard that they dropped some AP classes. I am dissappointed. Advanced classes are to prepare our kids for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

It seems to be getting worse and worse! The counselors might as well not even be there! From the time my oldest to youngest went, a span of five years it changed considerably, my youngest graduated top five in his class yet could not get important info from his counselor to save His life! I was very disheartened by that impaticularly, apparently she was another counselors daughter). She acted aloof and couldn't care less by the way! Unless your in AP classes, the classrooms are so disruptive with kids not wanting to learn that it seemed impossible to get an education! It's SO sad! I love St Clair Shores and am disappointed that SL has gone this direction! I wanted t to be good so badley! We have been out for five years now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

South Lake is a horrible school. The teachers aren't qualified to teach, the students are rude, mean, and very immature. The staff isnt friendly, and as i said, lots of racial comments/problems. I wouldnt reccommend this school to anybody. If your thinking about sending your child there, don't. If you want to go, don't. Your student will not succeed, and if your just going to see your friends, your making a huge mistake. Plus, the school doesn't meet college requirements.


Posted May 23, 2010

As a former class vice-president and 4.0 student at this school, I must admit that South Lake has not prepared me for college. I attended UofM after graduation and was surprised to see how much I did not learn in some of my 'college preparatory' classes. SL does not have a strong AP curriculum; something I believe is an excellent predictor of college readiness. Instead of giving students a thorough education, teachers are more often concerned with meeting requirements set by the state and/or administration. Some of the teachers are excellent, however, particularly in the science department and the Spanish language department. Overall, South Lake is not a bad school, however, if you (or your child depending on who is reading this) is hoping to receive a thorough education before attending a university, South Lake may just not have enough opportunities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2010

Horrible school. Asst Principal is arrogant, does not even want to speak with parents. Do not intend to send my child to this school again next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

South Lake has made tough decisions to face racial disparities head on. Kids have many choices. My daughter is taking Mandarin and advanced math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

Great school for my son who is in the Link program and a leader. Teachers care and work hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I had 2 children who attended South Lake Schools. I choose not to send my younger child to the High School for this simple reason, my older child throughout his tenure at times did not have a book, desk or a teacher. He was forced to do an independent study for a AP Level Math or submit to taking bowling or video production in its place. The school board is a joke. Everything is pre planned for a united front. Not willing to make the hard line changes to better the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

South Lake School is not s place for minority students. The principal is opinionated and will not listne to reason. The curriculum does not meet college requirements that will prepare students for the future. If you want anything out of South Lake you must be part of the elite club. If you are not, there is no chance to be sucessful at South Lake High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

South Lake High is not a good school to go to. I am a freshman at the school and I can already see through everything, things that it would take some people their entire high school career to realize. The principal is very ignorant, rude, and unfair to students and parent, as well. I will soon be leaving South Lake and I think that I will be much happier. I advise anyone who thinking about joining South Lake or parents who are thinking of sending there kids there, to no go through with it. It is not a good school to go to. The curriculum is not hard just much homework to do. My 8th grade work was harder than what we have to do at SL. It is to your best advantage to go somewhere else other than SL. And I think that a HUGE change needs to be made at that school before I even think about going back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2007

Great teachers and leaders in this district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

I graduated from South Lake High School in 2000. I found when I entered college that I was totally unprepared for what was waiting for me. I believe much of the curriculum is 'watered down' so as to keep grade averages above average for the state. The counselors who actually cared (Gough and Burke) are no longer working at South Lake, and the few teachers who cared have all either retired, passed away, or have subsided to allow the more 'mainstream' styled teachers to run the show. It saddens me greatly to see what South Lake High has become; I believe I graduated on the cusp of what were great years in true education- full, personal education. Now it is the greater image of the school that holds the faculty s endeavors.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
15%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

83%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 69%
African-American 44% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carmen Kennedy
Fax number
  • (586) 445-4243

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21900 East 9 Mile Rd
Saint Clair Shores, MI 48080
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 435-1401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Apple Tree Daycare Center
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Faith Comm. Christian Academy
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Heart Academy
Harper Woods, MI


Grosse Pointe North High School
Grosse Pointe Woods, MI


Lakeview High School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Harper Woods High School
Harper Woods, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT