Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Schoolcraft High School

Public | 9-12 | 354 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

This is school is full of rude teachers and students. This is the only school I've gone to and I used to be happy and getting good grades. But I'm now suffering from depression from being constantly bullied and pressurized by my peers. The teachers have done nothing to help! I told the people in the office, when I was in middle school, that someone stole stuff from my locker and they told me it was my problem to solve! I don't not feel safe here and I've certainly don't enjoy being here. I will be switching schools next year, my senior year. I cannot handle being treated like this anymore. Technology have literally taken over the whole school this year and education has gone way down. Please do not send your kids to this school, unless you want them to be bullied and cussing every minute of the day. Mots pretty sad that junior cried the whole 1st month of school because she has no friends and doesn't want to be here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2014

Taxes are too high in Schoolcraft for the low level of quality in this school. The school wants to do additional building projects even though the enrollment hasn't increased. Many kids, including mine, are going to other area schools because of limited class choices. Vote no on August 5 to reduce your taxes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

I post this as a resident of Schoolcraft and a parent of a former student. It was amazing how poor the district rated on the latest bridgemi.com survey. The survey measures the level of district achievement based on socioeconomic status. Schoolcraft was 443 out of 540 michigan districts. Other local districts were Vicksburg 179, Lawton 95, Portage 116, Mattawan 89, Three Rivers 106, Kalamazoo 157, Dowagiac 77, Cassopolis 402, Mendon 296. I'm appalled that Cassopolis actually has a better level of achievement than Schoolcraft. I think the residents of Schoolcraft should demand better performance and the parents of Schoolcraft should expect better levels of academic achievement from their spoiled kids. Wake up Schoolcraft...you might win on the football field but you're losing in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

I have had to pull my children from Schoolcraft because of many problems going with the middle/high school. When your middle schooler comes home and says "I am not learning anything" and they are getting good grades there is a problem! Changes to the district do need to happen however changes that Mr. Stitt is doing is not what I would want for my child. The districts moving to a Projected Based learning style. Do the research-you will understand why many parents are not happy. With all of the parent input the district asks for no one is listening! Not even the School Board. The school board does not want to hear negative input. Most of them sit on the board with blinders on listening to how the administration goes on about how great all the changes are but will not do the research/ask for hard facts. With many meeting and concerns expressed about my child's education for 2 years nothing was done! There is not a higher expectation for students to learn in the classroom. There is a lack of curricular choices, learning resources and there are problems with the quality of teaching staff. Leadership in the district is more about who you know not about what is best for the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

This is a solid area high school. The administration and staff care very much about the success of the students and the community. It is a smaller school in a rural/suburban town so don't go in expecting a wealth of student diversity. It's proximity to Kalamazoo and Western Michigan University provides ample opportunity for AP classes and some larger school experience if that is what you desire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

For any parent who is interested in their child succeeding to the best of their ability, do not send them to this school. I am a parent who had to remove my child after her freshmen year here at this high school, for many reasons. My child was placed in two classes, where special education children were being experimentally assimilated in, and because of these two children, it was impossible for her to learn. In both classes, the challenged child distracted many of the "normal" kids in class, so that my daughter and many of her peers could not focus during lecture. I pleaded to the administration that both of these children take the normal remedial classes, but the schoolboard insisted that they try to assimilate them into my child's classes. It made her learning suffer. Along with that semester of incidents, the administration of the school did not seem to care what I or other involved parents had to say. The PTA and myself have an interest in helping the adolescents and learning environment, not hurting them, but what is the point of a PTA if the school does not listen? Also, it should be noted this school is in the middle of a very rural town, so diversity is not promoted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2011

Both of my kids LOVE going to school! I have watched my son, who is in the Upper Elementary, go from a shy, awkward kid, to someone who is self confident and takes pride in his schoolwork. My daughter, who has ADHD, comes home and tells me all of the new things she has learned that day. The staff has been very patient and positive with her and is helping her do her best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

I have a sibling that goes here, and I also substitute teach here. Frankly, I think that Schoolcraft Schools, especially the high school, are a sad excuse for a school system. You pay ridiculously for taxes, but if your kid struggles and needs something like a 504 plan, don't expect it to be followed very well or for them to receive much help. It is probably a great school for anyone who excels in school, but if you struggle, don't bother. I know of a few students, now including my brother, who have switched to other districts and have never turned back. At this school, he even had a teacher who gave a series of tests that many failed and then called it a project because he forgot to assign one and made it worth 40% of the grade; thus, lowering many students grades by one or two letters. As a sub, this school is full of entitled children who think that they deserve everything and teachers who don't actually teach.


Posted May 21, 2008

Nice new school, but academics and teacher environment are not up to par with surrounding schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

This is my senior year at Schoolcraft High School. Schoolcraft Schools provide a great education and also provide many opportunities. I really enjoyed going to this school and have made many great memories.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 29, 2004

This was/is an excellent school. I went through the entire Schoolcraft school system from 1st grade through High School graduation (1994). Following graduation, I went on to the University of Michigan and got my BA. I also have spent some time in London, England studying at the University College London. I am now attending the University Of Chicago Graduate School Of Business. I have seen a lot of educational institutions and I can proudly say that the quality of education that I received at Schoolcraft was top notch.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female38%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female78%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students46%
Female32%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students53%
Female43%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

96%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 69%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

551 East Lyons Street
Schoolcraft, MI 49087
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 488-7350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Vicksburg High School
Vicksburg, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT