Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Switzer Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are ok. My child had 3 like very nice teachers and 3 three unfriendly ones. The curriculum is pretty mundane and redundant. I dont believe a child will leave Switzer a better student because they attend Switzer. The teachers as well as the principal aren't exactly having a profound affect on the students.

Switzer Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
The school doesn't give ANY homework. There are about two take home projects a year. The students are expected to complete their unfinished class work at home. From my knowledge about half the class may have to take their class work home. There aren't any take home work to reinforce what they are learning at home. My kid is in 5th grade, and not once in five years was homework given.


Switzer Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
Academically this school isn't challenging. Although every child receives A's and B's on their report cards,they consistently preform poorly on the state test. In some subject areas only about 30% of the kids are proficient. Keep in mind the states proficiency level is extremely low. A great school would reflect proficiency in all subject area by a higher percentage of students. This school hasn't been a blue ribbon school in over 5 yrs. If your looking for a great school scratch Switzer off the list.

Switzer Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
I would like to thank ALL of the staff ( teachers and non teachers), administrators, parent volunteers and the PTO for making Switzer a warm and welcoming place for my children have the opportunity for educational excellence.

Switzer Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
Sometimes (rarely) I feel there is too much, but I chose to move into this area because of a very good school and that means homework. It teaches my children time management.


Switzer Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
This school is fantastic! I am a high school teacher and if you want your children to be challenged educationally and ready for the next level, this is where you want to be. I have two children attending Switzer and they have since kindergarten. Yes, there is homework. Shouldn't there be? There are several after school activities, fun ones like Lego Robotics and more serious ones like Science Olympiad. The PTO has a great interaction with staff and parents. Speaking of staff, 7 out of 8 teachers my children have had have been exceptional! The other was average (when compared to their competition) but still very good.

Switzer Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2016
- a community member
We have had wonderful experiences with both of our children attending Switzer. The teachers they have had are exceptional educators, with creative and engaging teaching methods and genuine concern for the development and well- being of the kids in their class. The current principal has provided outstanding leadership and knows all the children so well. He goes well above the expectations of the position each and every day. My kids LOVE school and grew steadily in their love of reading and learning new things. In fact when the district had a snow day earlier this year, my daughter sobbed because she couldn't go to school. Couldn't be happier there.

Switzer Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a community member
Switzer elementary is one of the best schools in the district from helpful staff to bright students this school couldn't get better.


Switzer Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! I have four kids attending Switzer ranging from K through 6 and I couldn't be happier with each of their situations. Our kids are diverse--from getting all As, to the athlete, to one with Asperger's and each of them is well taken care of. The teachers, and especially the principal Mr Palmer couldn't be nicer or more helpful. If you're looking for an elementary to place your child and know they'll be well taken care of, buy a house that's in this district. You won't regret it!

Switzer Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are amazing at Switzer. The teachers make sure that the kids are learning what is needed no matter how hard the teachers have to try. I have been so happy to have both my children in Switzer. The whole staff is helpful and friendly. The teaching is at a higher level and the children are very bright because of their hard work and dedication to our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Switzer Elementary School
53200 Shelby Road, Shelby Charter Township, MI  48316
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (586) 797-6400
Last modified Switzer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top