Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Issac Monfort Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 681 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

I agree wholeheartedly with the comment below! I could not have said it better myself. Given the times that we live in, I really appreciate Mrs Zimmerman's leadership in requiring many of the teachers to look out for the children in the morning. I often feel sorry for the teachers, because many of the parents DON'T follow directions when it comes to the parking lot. They create spaces and park where they shouldn't. It really takes the patience of Job to deal with many of these parents and then their children. I can not say enough good things about Mrs Balthazor(K) and Mrs Genna (1st) ; ) They have good communication skills and my children enjoy learning while under their care. The complaint that I do have is for the District or the State. I don't agree with the kindergarteners not being about to lay their heads down for a few minutes everyday. It's so exhausting for their little minds. Also, I think it's TOO much stimuli with all the technology. Children need to be more social and not staring at a laptop or ipad most of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I already wrote a good review for Monfort. I would just like to answer to a few of the bad reviews that the school has received. The school was built in the 60's, so it is an older building, but it is in good shape, and it is not dirty at all. I don't even understand why someone would even say that. Nothing like an "inner city" school. My kids teachers are awesome!! There is always a member of the staff out in the parking lot every morning guiding traffic when people drop their children off for extra safety. There is also a crossing guard on the corner of the parking lot out there every day watching over the kids. For added safety inside, the school now has it's doors locked at the main entrance, and another entrance to classrooms locked at all times. They actually have a monitored entrance now, too. The office staff is always very kind and helpful. The principal, Mrs. Zimmerman, is super nice. She is a pleasant person, and very down to earth. I am very happy with the education my children are receiving. I am involved at the school, and not one person I have spoken with has said they are unhappy. There are some false statements here. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I feel sorry for the teachers at this school. They work so hard. I volunteer at the building and can not believe that the teachers take the abuse they do from some of the parents. Every school has them, but this school has some really really crazy parents. They speak to the teachers rudely. They demand special treatment for their kids (who are especially mean to other children). It is a real pity that a few bad apples can bring such a negative tone to this building. I applaud the teachers at this building. They are caring outstanding educators. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

When I moved to my neighborhood a few years ago, I wondered why many of the children here do not go to Monfort, but instead go to the other schools in the area, and now I understand why. This school is very much like an inner city high school as said in other reviews. It is very dirty, overcrowded, and does have more of the overall feel of a correctional facility rather than an elementary school. I always heard other moms complain about how rude and uncaring the principal is and I have experienced this for myself. The parking lot is very dangerous and an embarrassment. I have heard of no plans to try to improve it either. There are constantly fundraisers and other schemes to have our children raise money for more technology for the school. The technology there is adequate. There are far more important other needs for funds at this school than more computers. This school needs help. My children will not return to Monfort next year, and I have heard many other parents say the same, which is a shame because there are some really great teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

We moved to Shelby Township last year. My children were apprehensive about changing schools, but they have adjusted well. I am not sure what is going on with the other reviews but we have experienced none of the negative issues expressed other than the parking. Both of my children love their new teachers and every one of the teachers and staff I have met have been great. There are lots of after school activities and the school is clean and well kept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I was excited to start my children's education at Monfort after hearing wonderful stories of this school. My child is now in the 3rd grade and I am fed up with the school and staff. These women are rude, from the principle Zimmerman right down to the lunch staff, which by the way they do treat the kids like they are in prison. They cannot talk during lumch or they pulled up to the stage where everyone can stare at them. Very traumatic for a young child. Communication with teachers is terrible. I've waited several days before hearing back at times. That's if they get the email....UGH!! Mrs. Sylvester is one of the rudest teachers there. I would call her what she is but I have to watch my language on this page. They favor the wealthy kids and the smart ones too and push aside the slower kids. It is a very sad school. My advice is to stay away from this school. Stay far far away!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

I have two children in the school. ALL of the 3rd and 4th grade teachers are top notch. They are the best teachers I've had the pleasure of working with. Mrs H., used to teach Kindergarten and is now in 1st grade, is excellent teacher as well.! However, many of the others clearly do not care about your children or what you think. Nothing is more frustrating when you can't get a teacher to respond to your questions or concerns. They all have e-mail addresses but my child's teacher has never once responded to the e-mail I've sent her. The new principal seems to be making some long over due changes. Your child's experience will only be as good as his/her teacher. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2012

The children at this school are treated like prisoners. The building is so filthy that a lot of students don't even like to use the bathrooms. Urine and feces on the floors. Gym consists of exercises on the filthy cafeteria floor that's never washed. The staff is uncaring. It speaks volumes that many Monfort teachers live within the district but send their kids to private elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

My daughter went to this school for a year & 1/2. My daughter was subjected to bullying from the time she started. I was constantly in the school trying to get the problem resolved. This year, not only was it not resolved, they put her bully in the same class as her. I finally pulled her out recently because my daughter started suffering anxiety attacks from the constant bullying. The school, and particularly Mrs Zimmerman the principal, could not care less. They did absolutely nothing for me or my daughter. They put on a great anti bullying performances, but that's all they are... performances. It's a shame. I've heard from many parents whose children went to Monfort for longer than my daughter, that Monfort was one of the best schools around until the last couple of years. As one parent put it, Monfort is comparable to a Detroit inner city school. There are some great teachers at Monfort, but there's also some who really shouldn't be teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

We moved to this school district becuase of the excellent reputation. This school is a serious dissapointment. There isn't enough room to explain all the unwarranted "mishaps" that we have enured in the few months at this school. I can't wait for this year to end so I can enroll him in school of choice and get out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My son attends kindergarten at Monfort. I drive him 20 minutes north just so he can attend, and I am happy with the school...and with Ms. Hawke, in particular. She is so lovely, and has made a fan out of my shy little boy. I'm also very impressed with the office staff; they're always friendly. Thanks, Monfort, for giving my son a wonderful start to school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

My two sons and my nephew went to Monfort. Most of the teachers truly care about the education and well being of the students. The boys had several teachers that they still talk about and go to visit. The administrative office staff went above and beyond whenever my the kids were sick or had forgotten lunch, missed the bus etc. We moved out of the Monfort district in sixth grade and it was a very disappointing experience for my son. The teacher was nothing like we had experienced at Monfort and still to this day I regret that we made the move before he finished at Monfort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

The one reason we moved to this area was because of the school system. I am very disappointed, it was suppose to be a blue ribbon school. Unfortunately it has not hit blue ribbon status since the first time. I will say that some of the teachers are excellent but there are also some that should not be there. The principal listens to everything you have to say, tells you what you want to hear and then does nothing with any of it. Parents in this school are very involved in my experience. I believe it is because they have to be. This will be my oldest daughters 5th year at this school and for some reason every year it gets worse. We have had to put so much time into keeping our children up to speed at home it is ridiculous. My class C school tops this class A school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2003

This is an excellent school. It is such a warm and loving place to grow and learn. I went there and would recommend it to anyone.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 2% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Karen Zimmerman
Fax number
  • (586) 797-5701

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6700 Montgomery Drive
Shelby Charter Township, MI 48316
Phone: (586) 797-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Morgan Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


Switzer Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


Crissman Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


Roberts Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


Wiley Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


West Utica Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT