Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roberts Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 572 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

This is the arm pit of Utica schools. Located right next to low income apts., this school provides Detroit type educational environment. Blue Ribbon standing means nothing when the programs, actives and level of participation are substandard. This can only mean that Utica School Direct knows the issues with the school and does not provide the correct funding. The only claim to fame at this school is the chess program. It has the large participation in the state, but this is most likely because of the lack of other program. Stay away from this school and drop your child off for the chess program if you are into chess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

I can't wait to remove my child from this school, his first grade teacher is a complete psychopath. I feel absolutely horrible for any child who gets her next year. Not only is the support staff overlooking of her clear inability to be an educator, but, she singles out children at a very vulnerable age. They've done almost nothing to teach my child anything new, only focusing on getting his test scores high enough to move him to second grade. Absolutely ridiculous, summer can't come soon enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I think this school is improving every year and looking foward to the new school year. I have been hearing many positive comments from parents and teachers over the summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

I think anybody living in the area would be fortunate to get an education from the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

I'd send my child to private school rather than Roberts if I had the choice to make over again. Old materials, few books, limited supplies and no doors on any classrooms make learning tough for kids with the large classes in grades 1 through 6. There seem to be more than 30 kids per class. State test scores seem to be dropping and I not surprised since this school seems to resist change. Kids say that many teachers yell a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

Roberts Elementary is a nurturing environment for children. The teachers, the principal, the custodian, the cook, the support staff, and the secretary all care about the children. I chose Roberts Elementary for my children above area schools and I know that I made the right choice. I have seen many, many instances where children were put first. No child ever goes hungry, teachers and the office staff have sought out winter coats and boots for children in need, and the secretary treats all of these little ones like they are her own. She wears many hats and loves her job. I feel confident that my children are well taken care of and are getting a quality education. The principal sets high expectations for teachers and students in order to provide the best learning environment for our children. As far as parent participation, the PTO as well as teachers welcome parent volunteers. I have seen many parents working in classrooms, the media center, reading with children, organizing events, fundraisers, assemblies, etc. I have seen many pleas for help and ways to get involved. I am a happy parent and proud to say that my children attend Roberts Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

Huge class sizes of 31 or more students. Rude staff, not willing to take parent input.


Posted September 19, 2011

So far the school year has changed slightly since last year. However, the principle has been a little nicer, but the seceratry lady that sits up front...man..u cant even get her ever to be nice or smile. U can hear her yell from her chair to the kids in the hallway. I just dont undertand how u cannot be nice. Still the parent participation still doesnt seem to be a important goal of this school. U want to particapate but they never call u.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

This is a terribly unprofessional school with rude faculty and staff. The post from a parent on Feb 18, 2011 is spot on, there's actually so much more but....it's too bad public schools have such low standards now days and that no one cares enough to hold them accountable and we the taxpayers/parents of the students attending have no say what so ever in any of it. Perfect example of carelessness and laziness in society, not everything takes a dollar to make a difference, somethings just take someone caring enough to make the difference. Taking my kids to a new school in hope a bit more logical practices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

My child is a 4th grader at this school. He has some slight struggles with certain areas of learning. His teacher has been very supportive and made some good suggestions for us to try at home. However, of the 5 years he has attended, only 2 of his teachers have really shown any initiative in helping him. I agree with some of the other parents on this site that it would be nice if the principal became more involved on a personal level with the students. My son is involved in the Roberts Rooks Chess Club at this school, and I have to say that the club is one of the best (if not the best) in the state. The teacher who runs it is truly outstanding. He truly cares about the kids and makes many personal sacrifices with his time to run this club. Overall, we're pretty happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

All the teachers really care about the children and teaching them. They are well liked by parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I love Roberts because it is the perfect size and fit for my family. The teachers are helpful and easy to communicate with. The learning process is structured to your child's abilities, and they have the right mix of learning and fun time. The student body is a perfect mix of different cultures which I find important. The building itself is clean, well run and well staffed. The guiding principles of the school are something any family can agree on, mainly to be respectful and to do your best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

It is a great neighborhood school. The families that attend the school really care about what happens there. They have tons of family involvement, whether it is with parents helping out in the class, to the after school activities that take place. The teachers and staff have a genuine concern for the students in the building. I cannot imagine ahving my kids in another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I love Roberts because it is such a family oriented school. Many of the parents are involved one way or another. I appreciate the diversity, which makes the school so well-rounded. The teachers and staff are very caring and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The school places the students needs as their first priority.


Posted September 18, 2009

All 3 of our sons received a quality education @ Roberts. They all had wonderful, caring, dedicated teachers. It truly is a Blue Ribbon Exemplary School, in our hearts & in the state of Michigan!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I agree that the class sizes are too big but there are some good teachers. I am really not happy with the treatment of my child when issues arise. I also agree that small things are picked on and large things are overlooked. I think the principle picks sides when issues arise. So if you are a 'repeat' offender you are most definately at fault even if it is not your fault unless you have witnesses, whehter the other person involved has one or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

My son started Kindergarten this year at Roberts. He absolutely loves it! This is a child who has had a very difficult time leaving me all through out preschool. He is excited everyday to be going to school. His teacher is very positive and caring. There are tons of opportunities to volunteer and feel a part of the school community. The principal is out each morning to greet the kids and knows them by name. The atmosphere is great and though I checked out many private school as well as full day kindergarten options, ultimately my son wanted to go to Roberts and I am thrilled with our decision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

One child has been attending since 3rd grade and is now in 6th grade. I am very happy with her progression and her teachers. My younger child is in 1st grade and I am very unhappy about that progress. In Kindergarden the teacher concentrated on behaviour vs. teaching, and in 1st grade there is a little more teaching but I think that the time spent teaching is not adequate for the children to be prepared for the next level. My child will go to a private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I am very happy with my Kid's development through Preschool and 3rd grade program. Looking forward to even more challenging and rewarding experience in 4th grade. This school matches, at times excels, many schools from better rated school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
African-American 4% 18%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Hurley
Fax number
  • (586) 797-6101

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Belle View Drive
Shelby Charter Township, MI 48316
Phone: (586) 797-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Switzer Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


Morgan Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


Issac Monfort Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


North Hill Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Hampton Elementary School
Rochester Hills, MI


Holy Family Regional School
Rochester Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT