Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richard J. Duncan Elementary

Public | K-6 | 855 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 24, 2013

Duncan is the best! The kids that go here care about learning, there is great parent involvement and the teachers care. I love Duncan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Terrible school for any child that needs learning accommodations. They only care about gifted children that will help their Blue Ribbon reputation. Horrible experience for our child once she got to 4th grade. No child left behind..... unless they need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2012

Excellent school and teachers! We've only just begun here and I've already seen exceptional growth out of my children due to the top notch teachers they have on staff. Couldn't be happier with every aspect of the school and I'm looking forward to many more years at Duncan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

This school gives the essesnce of hard work and dedication to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

This school is definitely a Blue Ribbon school in my opinion. Renewal of millage was successful due to the teachers themselves getting the word out that if it failed academics would suffer. These teachers give 110%. Ms Gambino a third grade teacher is so enthusiastic about her job and what commitment means. On her own time she participates in extra programs for the kids.


Posted May 6, 2009

So glad to be the first to post about Richard J. Duncan Elementary's achievement of 'Michigan Bue Ribbon Exemplary School'! In only 6.9 short years, our elementary has achieved what so many only hope for. To be recognized by the Michigan State Board of Education as a Blue Ribbon School. Duncan Elementary is truely blessed to be under the direction of Mrs. Sharon Coil. Mrs. Coil is an outstanding adminstrator, as well as outstanding individual! Because of her dedication to excellence, fabulous leadership, and heart of gold, Duncan Elementary has been brought to the top and shines above thousands of Michigan schools! From Mrs. Coil, Mr. Hodge, Mr. Potter, the entire teaching staff, as well as the support staff and custodial staff, to the dedicated parents who continually support their classroom teachers, each and every person plays in integral part in the educational experience our children receive. Go Duncan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

I'll never forget the first day of school for our daughter. It was a rainy day, and the principal and the entire staff were all lined-up in the parking to to greet the buses upon arrival, and to also make sure they were able to enter the school without getting wet. Mr. Duncan greeted them too. The kids felt so welcome!! Add to this the way they played music in the hallway every day before school, and seeing the principal hand-selecting the most beautiful apples and gently placing them on the kids' deck on the day of the MEAPa,... and it is a snapshot of all that can be right, and good, and NEEDED in American education. If all the schools in the Utica district were this good, people would be fighting to buy a home here! I hope that the principal here becomes the next Superintendent in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

Excellent Excellent school ! Did I mention that this school is Excellent? Any parent sending their child to school for the first time is apprehensive about the quality education and care their little one is going to receive. We were cautiously optimistic about the school and were both shocked at the level of enthusiasm the entire staff at Duncan has. Our daughter is a very social and energetic girl who could not wait to jump on the school bus that first day and she was pleasantly welcomed by Ms. Kathy on her bus, then by Mrs. Coil at school, then by Mrs. Palmer and Ms. Lewis in her classroom. I think she was more excited after school the first day than before she hopped on the bus. She loves her school! Thank you Duncan Staff (Mrs. Palmer, Ms. Lewis, Mr. Potter, Mrs. Coil, etc.) We appreciate ALL of you !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

The children who are taught here are above and beyond what the children around Michigan are learning. It is a digital age and the children are being taught how to type in second grade, how to do powerpoint demonstrations in third grade, and when they get to the sixth grade, they are being prepped for the jump to Jr. High. They offer Science Olympiad, Math Olympial,Reading and Homework Club,Destination Imagination, ATG, and many other extracurricular activities. From Kindergarten to Sixth Grade, they are all at the top of their game with creative ways to teach the children, while keeping it interesting at the same time. A++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

This is an awesome school. Lots of happy children entering and leaving. Very energetic principal and staff. Alot of teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2004

Let s start with the drive up to the school. The fairly new structure that is encompassed in its warm landscape and clean parking area already has you feeling the potential. If you arrive during the morning drop-off, you needn t wait until you enter the building to be awed. There s no sitting back waiting for things to happen at this school. For this is the beginning of the day for all the young bright growing minds of our future. You will see that some of the administration staff along with the principal herself has come outside to meet the buses as they arrive. All of the children are greeted and guided, as they get ready to start each new day. You begin to feel the energy and the smiles are contagious. Everyone looks happy and excited. I am already impressed and am eager to see what awaits us behind the doors. The anticipation builds as we enter the school. Pleasant visual presentations are displayed appropriately along the walls and windows. As you walk through the hallways, the children seem happy to be there and most of the teachers stand at their doors with warm smiles and friendly hellos greeting each student. Another school day has begun and it couldn t have gotten off to a better start. Wow! These children don t know how lucky they are. I can only imagine what great things are happening in the classrooms as the day progresses. Although I don t really want to leave, not being a student, my experience is soon to be over as I head for the doors. The positive energy here is so powerful, but the charge will have to last until I return to pick up my son. All of this comforts me as I leave in their capable hands what is most precious to me. It is late afternoon and the school day is coming to an end and yet the energy is still alive. Have these people just spent a whole day working? Wow, what a great place to work, where do I sign up? Look inside the best schools, and you will find the best principals (or at least I know that to be true in this case). You would only need to meet her once to know that my description is no exaggeration. Beneath her impeccable classy attire is her enormous heart. She emits a sense of peace and tranquility even when the surrounding activity levels are heightened. Always remaining in control and attentive to the needs of others, there is no doubt of her passion and dedication to her school and all of the lives that are affected by it. If a situation occurs that calls for individual attention she becomes focussed on finding the best possitive solution with patience and understanding. If a team is what is needed, then she has her champions ready and willing to do what is in the best interest of all involved. Radiating such goodness and compassion, mutual respect seems automatic and effortless. Although her office mirrors her personality with comforting bears, flowers and inspirational books, you will probably have to look elsewhere for this high energy hands on principal. She loves her students and enjoys visiting the classrooms, lunchrooms and playground. The safety, success and happiness of her children and team members is what she strives for daily. For her, this is no forty-hour job. Long hours at school are often followed by continuous work and planning even after she heads for home. She is driven to do what ever it takes to lead her school to be the best. Someone needs to tell her that she has succeeded. All of the hard work and sacrifices that she has made are and will continue to be rewarded. At such a young age, she has much to be proud of. A great role model and inspiration to all, 'Teacher of the Year' is an award that she possesses, and if there is an award for 'Principal of the Year', she definitely deserves that too. The school was recognized in it's first year and should continue to be looked at for more great things are yet to come. This school and principal that I speak so highly of are Duncan Elementary School and Sharon Essian. You and your team have exceeded my expectations. You deserve recognition for achieving excellence and have my deepest gratitude for choosing this most rewarding career and doing it so well. I believe that to an extent, we are our product of our environment, if this is true, then I am sure to be pleased with the end results.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 69%
Asian 3% 3%
African-American 2% 18%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sharon Coil
Fax number
  • (586) 797-4601

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14500 26 Mile Road
Shelby Charter Township, MI 48315
Phone: (586) 797-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Beacon Tree Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI





Crissman Elementary School
Shelby Charter Township, MI


Hevel Elementary
Washington, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT