Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-6
Public
Shelby Charter Township, MI
Students enrolled: 855

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted December 23, 2014
- a parent
We are relatively new to Duncan, and I cannot say enough just how impressed we have been with this school. We left a bad situation in another district, and were hoping for even marginal improvement. Duncan has far exceeded our expectations, and we could not be happier. My kids are thriving, and all of them absolutely love going to school. Their teachers have been excellent as well. Great work, Duncan!

Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted December 24, 2013
- a parent
Duncan is the best! The kids that go here care about learning, there is great parent involvement and the teachers care. I love Duncan.


Richard J. Duncan Elementary 1

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
Terrible school for any child that needs learning accommodations. They only care about gifted children that will help their Blue Ribbon reputation. Horrible experience for our child once she got to 4th grade. No child left behind..... unless they need help.

Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted July 05, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school and teachers! We've only just begun here and I've already seen exceptional growth out of my children due to the top notch teachers they have on staff. Couldn't be happier with every aspect of the school and I'm looking forward to many more years at Duncan.

Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
This school gives the essesnce of hard work and dedication to the students.

Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted June 03, 2009
- a community member
This school is definitely a Blue Ribbon school in my opinion. Renewal of millage was successful due to the teachers themselves getting the word out that if it failed academics would suffer. These teachers give 110%. Ms Gambino a third grade teacher is so enthusiastic about her job and what commitment means. On her own time she participates in extra programs for the kids.

Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
So glad to be the first to post about Richard J. Duncan Elementary's achievement of 'Michigan Bue Ribbon Exemplary School'! In only 6.9 short years, our elementary has achieved what so many only hope for. To be recognized by the Michigan State Board of Education as a Blue Ribbon School. Duncan Elementary is truely blessed to be under the direction of Mrs. Sharon Coil. Mrs. Coil is an outstanding adminstrator, as well as outstanding individual! Because of her dedication to excellence, fabulous leadership, and heart of gold, Duncan Elementary has been brought to the top and shines above thousands of Michigan schools! From Mrs. Coil, Mr. Hodge, Mr. Potter, the entire teaching staff, as well as the support staff and custodial staff, to the dedicated parents who continually support their classroom teachers, each and every person plays in integral part in the educational experience our children receive. Go Duncan!


Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
I'll never forget the first day of school for our daughter. It was a rainy day, and the principal and the entire staff were all lined-up in the parking to to greet the buses upon arrival, and to also make sure they were able to enter the school without getting wet. Mr. Duncan greeted them too. The kids felt so welcome!! Add to this the way they played music in the hallway every day before school, and seeing the principal hand-selecting the most beautiful apples and gently placing them on the kids' deck on the day of the MEAPa,... and it is a snapshot of all that can be right, and good, and NEEDED in American education. If all the schools in the Utica district were this good, people would be fighting to buy a home here! I hope that the principal here becomes the next Superintendent in the district.

Richard J. Duncan Elementary 5

Posted January 07, 2009
- a parent
Excellent Excellent school ! Did I mention that this school is Excellent? Any parent sending their child to school for the first time is apprehensive about the quality education and care their little one is going to receive. We were cautiously optimistic about the school and were both shocked at the level of enthusiasm the entire staff at Duncan has. Our daughter is a very social and energetic girl who could not wait to jump on the school bus that first day and she was pleasantly welcomed by Ms. Kathy on her bus, then by Mrs. Coil at school, then by Mrs. Palmer and Ms. Lewis in her classroom. I think she was more excited after school the first day than before she hopped on the bus. She loves her school! Thank you Duncan Staff (Mrs. Palmer, Ms. Lewis, Mr. Potter, Mrs. Coil, etc.) We appreciate ALL of you !!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Richard J. Duncan Elementary
14500 26 Mile Road, Shelby Charter Township, MI  48315
(586) 797-4600
Last modified Richard J. Duncan Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Richard J. Duncan Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top