Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Utica High School

Public | 10-12 & ungraded | 1341 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2009

Overall, a great school. Teachers are great with some exceptions and curriculum is well taught. Very small school, not overcrowded, but in an essence somewhat underpopulated. District boundary changes made population of the school too small. Athletic teams are not as active as others in Utica Community Schools, but are still average programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

this school is okay, not the best though. some of the teachers have bad connections with the students(such as me) and thus, dont help us learn as well as we should.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

Alright, I was a student at Utica. I think I may know a little more about the teachers and other aspects of the school. Yeah some teachers don't help outside of the classroom. However, you're not going to find a school that is perfect. If the student took the right classes then they would've gotten teachers that were a great deal of help. My high school experience was one of the best of my life. I have absolutely nothing that I could complain about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

I agree with the previouse rating. The teachers do not teach beyond the classroom . They are not preparing the kids enough for the ACT. Not as good of school as i thought when we moved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

Great school. Best of UCS high schools. My child went to Eisenhower and I transfered him to Utica because it was so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

the scool is a great school. Much better then my junior high, most of my classes are pretty small maybe 25-30 in each class. I am doing better here than at my school its not as crowded as Ford and is one of the larger HS in the district.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2005

I absolutely loved Utica High School. My junior high experience was not a good one, so when I had the chance to come to Utica and go to school with new people I was thrilled. The staff was amazing, the students were kind, and the atmosphere was contagious. To the Parents: your child will love it, they will feel welcome, and the teachers are great. Send your child here even if you have to drive them!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2005

Utica high is a great school if your child has no problems. Unfortunately they seem to do everything in thier power to discourage you from getting your child extra help if you need it. (spec. ed. IEP'S ect)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

19 students in a class room, no way, the school it too small for its amount of students. Yes I will agree the staff is great, but please do not give information that is not correct about class size. Students will agree that it is too crowded, it is the smallest high school in the district. The school needs to be added onto and employ more teachers, don't hide the truth, it should be known to all that go there and the future people who will go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

This school has awesome teachers and is a great learning environment! The shop and welding classes are great, and also the technology and drafting department. But these departments aren't the schools only strong points, exellent science teachers of every science, math teachers that can make math fun and easy to understand, and english teachers that make english fun! This school is a definate A+ on the grading scale and I am fortunate eonogh to attend school at Utica High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2003

The faculty and leadership are outstanding. As a former student I loved it. I felt like every teacher and every staff member cared about me. The staff at Utica has inspired me to want to be a teacher. One day I hope to teach at a school like this.


Posted August 26, 2003

An awesome School with caring teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
26%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

93%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

91%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
African-American 5% 18%
Asian 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Janet Jones
Fax number
  • (586) 797-2201

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

47255 Shelby Rd
Shelby Township, MI 48317
Phone: (586) 797-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Advancepath Academy
Sterling Heights, MI


Henry Ford Ii High School
Sterling Heights, MI


Utica Learning Academy
Sterling Heights, MI


Eisenhower High School
Shelby Township, MI



Adlai Stevenson High School
Sterling Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT