Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eisenhower High School

Public | 10-12 & ungraded | 2051 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

We are new in the district this past year. We are very please with this district, which confirms our intensions for relocating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

I absolutely hate Eisenhower. The majority of the staff is really rude and offer little or no support. I especially dislike the staff in the maon office. I'm supposed to be able to seek help in the adults at my school, but I don't trust them. I hear them gossip about other students, and they even talked about me as I was walking away. The school is over populated. The majority of students are not friendly, and they are rude as well. They lack supplies despite being the "rich" school in the district. I mean, come on, who runs out of paper? The school does not provide courses that most other school supply such as home economics and comic. The school is more focused on sports rather than acedemics. I really detest Ike, I used to enjoy going to school, but now, I'm transferring to another school. I placed a request for my transcript about three weeks ago, and I still haven't heard from them. Eisenhower is not a school that you want your kids to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

My 2nd child is currently attending Ike. Mrs Bawol is a great principal. The school board is a disappointment. Mrs. Blain gets an A+ --- now that is a teacher! Get involved! Participate! My kids were proud to be Eagles.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I've had two kids go through Ike. One was almost all A s, athletic and basically would have excelled anywhere. The other struggled and was offered little to no support. He was frequently compared to his brother who was able to retain everything he read and basically taught himself. Way too much focus on sports and no attention to students who may struggle. I wish I had chosen another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

Many of the teachers here are pretty good. Although some have left for the new IB school, most the remaining ones are still good. The athletic programs here are good all around, and many of the kids learn quite a bit from there coaches both from sports, and from their class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

Way too many students. Too much concentration on sports and less on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

My sons got a great education there. They have many good academic teams that the boys competed on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I will be a junior at IKE this fall, and I was on the golf team in the spring (we did okay i guess). I'm only at IKE for a half day every day and then I go to the Math Science and Technology center at the IRC (every teacher there is finominal). At IKE though you really have to get lucky with the teachers there because i have heard some pretty interesing stories.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

Mediocre school with poor teaching, bad leadership, and a terrible sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

Not impressed at all -- this will be my 3rd child graduating from IKE and none of them liked it --very clicky -- A few good teachers--but not enough who really care-- Something is defintely wrong with their sports programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

Not impressed at all with Eisenhower. Some good teachers but overall definitely not what I would consider a 'blue ribbon' school. Adminstration staff needs improvement. Some teachers don't seem to be interested in helping students do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

My daughter is a junior at IKE and she loves it. So far she's passed 2 of the AP tests with 4, they really are preparing her for life after high school. The principal really does a great job. The french teacher is so enthusiastic - she makes me want to go back to high school. My daughter hates the thought of leaving this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I have had 2 children graduate from Eisenhower, and have been thoroughly unimpressed. They seem to be more interested in their sports programs than academics, and if you have a mediocre student, you had better be on top of it, because they certainly won't be, inc. the counselors. A few really good teachers, but mediocrity reigns here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

Ike has to be one of the greatest schools i have ever sent my child to. I used to send her to a private school, Lutheran High North, and i switched. I was a bit worried about going from the 'safe' private school to public but its working out great. The teachers are always there to help my daughter, they have good control over the students, and most of all my daughter is so much happier there. I am really glad i made the switch to Ike and let me tell you, if your daughter is begging you to go to ike, like mine so happened to be doing, i suggest you listen to her and send her there, its wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

I think this is one of the best schools my children have been to. I think overall the level of challenege these students have doesn't compare to the other schools in the Utica district. The students are spirited, teachers enjoy what they do, and the administration makes it their duty to keep the students safe. I am very proud of this school and would not change my opinion for any reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

661 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
African-American 2% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Nanette Chesney
Fax number
  • (586) 797-1301

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 25 Mile Rd
Shelby Township, MI 48316
Phone: (586) 797-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Advancepath Academy
Sterling Heights, MI


Stoney Creek High School
Rochester Hills, MI


Utica High School
Shelby Township, MI




Rochester High School
Rochester Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT