Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Peace Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 275 students

Our school is best known for a high quality Christ centered education.
 
 

 

Living in Shelby Township

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2011

We love Peace! The class sizes are small, the teachers are loving and caring, the staff is attentive to the needs of the families and the quality education is A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I absolutely love this school. The principal is caring and wonderful with both the parents and children. Not exactly sure what we will do next year due to finances but I would recommend this school to anyone. The class sizes are small and my daughter loves it! Unlike some other private schools Peace is not clickey. The staff are committed to each and every child and family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Our children have attended Montessori and Public Schools but Peace has out done them all. This school is THE BEST SCHOOL in Michigan! They have everything your child needs: Excellent Education, Excellent Teachers, Excellent Staff and a Principal that is absolutely Remarkable. They have such great balance there with love and guidance for your children. These teachers WANT your child to succeed with God, Education, Socialization and so much more. My kids loved the teachers and the students there. I am so sad for our kids to leave this school. The economy has changed our path and has forced us back into the public schools. Please pray for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

The addition of a full time principal has helped the school it has not solved the problems that exist at Peace. Although they received a gread christian foundation academically they are behind. I am very disappointed that I have wasted time and money on this substandard education.-they will not be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

We have been attending this school for six years and we just love it. The class sizes are small and the teachers are able to give extra attention to the students. My children love learning about the word of God and we follow up at home. Academically they are far ahead of other schools. My kids are far advanced in math. This school is very open to parent participation which I am able to take advantage of and my children love it! I know that my kids are in good hands at school with a loving and caring staff. This starts with the principal who stands outside every morning to greet the children and parents, the office staff who is always there with a smile, kind word and willing to lend a hand and finally there are the teachers who are dedicated to the children and God. They are there for the love of their jobs and not the money. I would strongly encourage everyone to check out Peace Lutheran as an option for a private school choice. I am a proud parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Smaller classes, individual attentin, know children by name, great academics, loving attentive teachers and staff - what more could a parent ask for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

I didn't like class size did not help kids when they went on to Lutheran high north
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

My children attended this school for 6 years. I thought that they were getting a better educaiton than what the public school could provide. I was wrong! When my children began school this year they were writting well below their grade level and math. They also had accountability issues. Peace Lutheran does not hold children or parents accuntable for their actions. The last 4 years were awful and I would not suggest having any child go through this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

Both of my children have attended Peace from PK-8th grade. The primary focus of the school is Christ and the high, academic standard is an added bonus to this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

All four of our children have attended Peace Lutheran School. During that 16 year period, each child's life was influenced by their exceptional and gifted teachers and staff. They were more than adequately equipped to excel in high school: academically, emotionally, and physically. Peace prepared them to take advanced placement classes in high school. However, we were more impressed with the concern for our children's spiritual life and well-being than the great academics and sports they provided. Our children are confident in their faith and values. We really appreciated the extra activities and family atmosphere that Peace provided for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

We sent our child to this school thinking that they would get a good academic and christian education. The school lived up to it's academic expectations. However, it fell very short of the christan, moral academic. I found that although the class sizes were small, the majority of the teachers were unable to adequately control the students. The principal, when there was one, seemed to feel it was more important not to upset the parents then making the children who were acting out accountable for their actions. This allowed the other children who were following the rules feel that they too did not need to therefore creating a chaotic undesireable learning environment. My child is now in the public school system and thriving academically and morally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

The smaller class sizes and individual attention given to students make this a great school. It is nice to see attention given to kindness and manners as a priority. The academic load is a bit heavier than the local public schools but in today competitive market this will give children an edge when they move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 69%
African-American 2% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jill Kopper
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (586) 731-8935

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • UCS busing for UCS district
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Student newspaper
  • puppets
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
300
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
315
Students typically come from these schools
Peace Lutheran Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High North or Northwest
Malow Jr. High
Romeo High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6580 24 Mile Rd
Shelby Township, MI 48316
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 781-4120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT