Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beacon Tree Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 722 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

My wife and I are so glad that we made the decision to bring our girls to this school! Excellent teachers and staff. We love the curriculum. Our youngest gets extra help that is beyond private schooling. I am proud that we made the decision to do school of choice and give our girls the best!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My daughter is going into 2nd grade and loves this school, I feel like she has learned so much already. All the teachers I have met are all excellent! I am sad to see Mrs. Clor leave but am sure she chose some one just as good as her to replace her. I would recommend this school to anyone! This is a school of choice and am glad I chose for my daughter to attend Beacon Tree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

My son has developmental and emotional delays and this school has been outstanding in helping him succeed. He has made remarkable progress an I can't thank the staff enough for helping him reach his goals. The progress he has made is a testament to the dedication of the staff and principle. Not only has my son had the extra help needed he has made progress which is most important when considering the programs available, they work! My son has had behavioral problems as well. He was never labeled "a bad seed" even when his behavior problems were at their worst. They worked closely with me and we worked through most his problems by putting all the neccessary tools in place for success. They never gave up on my son. The principle is hands on and the kids love her (even my son who has seen her office a few times for not so good behavior) The teachers are deeply devoted and seem to trully care about the children's education and well being. The parent volunteer's do a lot of the students and plan several fun activities throughout the year. I would recommend this school to anyone who ask.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

This school is the best.....our children have attended this school now for over four years. I picked this school through "school of choice" and will continue attending until all four of my children have completed here. It is a fun school with teachers who know how to build confidence and self-esteem with children as they learn. My kids come home happy and full of knowledge from their day at Beacon Tree! The Principal is an amazing leader! She seems to know all the children by name and addresses them with love and respect! I just can't say enough about this "WOW" school. Any parent would be pleased and proud to have a child that attends this school. I wish more schools could follow there lead. I know Beacon Tree will produce many future leaders for our beautiful world. Thank you to everyone at BEACON TREE ELEMENTARY, shelby michigan!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

My children have gone to Beacon Tree for 4 years, a 5th grader and a 1st grader and I couln't ask for a better education, when my daughter started she have some dificulties with the language and she went to the ESL program with the best comprehensive and effective teacher. The teachers at Beacon Tree are well prepared, and they loved their profession and work with passion & love with the kids. The administration office is outstanding, friendly, and go above and beyond with the kids, phone, parents requests, and any little or small issues. The security is like or better than any private school. I feel very happy and tranquil when my kids are at school. Thank you to the staff and kids that make my children happy to go to school every single day. Noemi Jimenez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

The principal has been amazing. She takes a personal interest in the students. All of the kids know and love her. The teachers have all been amazing. I have kids in K and 2nd grade who are both developing into outstanding students. I believe that Beacon Tree has had a tremendous impact on their success. Between the 2 we've had 4 teachers and all have been outstanding. The communication has been extremely helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

My children have gone to Beacon Tree for 3 years - ever since it was built, and my husband and I couldn't be happier with the principal. She sets a positive tone for the entire school and the staff and students rise to her expectations. The education and safety of our children are the top priority. The parent volunteer group is outstanding and have done some amazing things for our school, plus they have a lot of fun activities for the kids and parents. You culdn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Excellent Principal and Teachers. My son is getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

Absolutely a fantastic school! We are so pleased. The principal and the staff are there for the right reasons. Our kids are fortunate to have dedicated, warm, friendly, and supportive people to teach them! Way to shine Beacon Tree! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My kids started here this year and so far we are ecstatic about how wonderful the staff is. We left a private school to come here and our children just love it. All they can say is how wonderful, loving and smily the teachers are. Will review again later in the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Our children just started at this school, but so far we are very happy. Our children are in 4th and K. The open house last night was very well attended and the parents seem very involved. The students all seem happy with their school and their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
African-American 2% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Nick Russo
Fax number
  • (586) 797-7301

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55885 Schoenherr Rd
Shelby Township, MI 48315
Phone: (586) 797-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Richard J. Duncan Elementary
Shelby Township, MI



Crissman Elementary School
Shelby Township, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT