Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Lyon High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1273 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2013

Wonderful school system with caring teachers and lots of opportunity. South Lyon offers many sports, activities and AP classes to round out a full educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

The school system here is illogical and sad. The school is politically incorrect, unfocused, and dirty. I can begin to explain the various reasons My child will no longer attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

My shy, unsure of himself Freshman LOVES this school. He has made several friends, is participating in class, clubs, and functions. He has 1 difficult teacher all year and is learning to deal with that well. We are very pleased with his academic success, and the level of communication generated by his teachers. We have no doubts about his ability to transition into the college atmosphere. Overall, very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

Well above average high school. Offerings of AP classes provide student opportunities to prepare for university study. Both children were accepted to all colleges of choice (including U of Mich). Would have given 5 stars but deletion of AP Spanish in favor of Chinese and no AP Physics this past spring indicates that cracks are forming in administrative/curriculum planning. High marks however are given for flexibility in allowing self-directed Physics class as an AP replacement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

Sure South Lyon is a bit out of the way, but that just may be the reason for the great "small town" feel and fantastic teacher/student ratio and wonderful relationships. The teachers and faculty really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

2006 Grad. This school has great amenities, but they're only there if you take them. The people complaining about poor teaching- well yeah, you're going to find that anywhere- I've had a few poor teachers there, but what really stands out are the several really wonderful teachers I had. To the parents who had a problem with a bad teacher- the option is always there to switch. The school has plenty of extra curricula's, and compared to some students here at MSU from other high schools, I have realized really how many AP classes and opportunities South Lyon HIgh School OFFERED it's students. A school can provide all the help in the world people- but if your child is unwilling to accept it, it doesn't help! I will say though that the administration there could definitely use some help, but this is when there was only one HS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

This school does have a lot of choices but most of those choices don't have any value, the school consulers are never seen, no one is able to go to them for college help and thier is no time to see them, also, some courses that prepare you for college are not offered here, most of the money from our school goes towards band and football and new lights for the practice field instead of textbooks, we have been using the same physics book since 1995, the school is not a good chioce because their is not much to do, most of the good courses that you need to take you can't until your junior or senoir year and with only 6 hours to choose from that is very limited for students with a lot of intrests, its not that good of a school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2008

I attend south lyon schools untill 11 grade. the schools are run down but the teaching is great. there is a lot of swearing in the high schools but that is hard to control. the sports program is amazing too. SLHS is a great school as well as Kent Lake and Centennial Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

Great school, great selection of sports and academic classes, great people and teachers. Although sometimes some teachers aren't so great and it is crowded at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

Teachers are parents too. So just because some cannot stay after does not make them a bad teacher. Several are award winning teachers and this comment is obviously by someone that has a grudge. My students all passed the AP tests thanks to the teachers there......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

My third child to graduate from South Lyon High School will graduate in 2008. Each child had a different, positve, experience because each of my children are completely different from one another. We moved here from California when the first child was about to enter 9th grade. We could have lived anywhere in the metro-Detroit area. Our oldest graduated from MSU and immediately landed a dream advertising job. The middle child received enormous attention from the school because she needed it. They never gave up on her and built up her confidence to an amazing degree. She will be graduating in a a couple years with her BSN. The child graduating this year may be valedictorian, 4.0 and received 5s on AP Calc, 4s on other AP exams. This High School has provided everything my husband and I could hope for when we made the decision to move to Mich.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

Great School. Love the new principal and the assistant principals! My child loves going to SLHS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 16, 2004

I attended South Lyon schools from K-12 (1995 grad). At the time I thought the school was okay. After graduating and maturing I realized that the school district is in need of serious reconstruction. I think the schools do a very poor job preparing students for college as well as understanding and empathizing with different family structures. My sister is now in 9th grade and should be in 6th or 7th. My brother dropped out in 1992 after falling behind. The motto seems to be 'Pass Em', Pass Em', Pass Em'' This attitude does nothing to help students that are behind. All this does is discourage students more because they no longer understand material and no longer enjoy school. It is amazing to me that my brother and sister were passed on when they clearly didn't know the material for that grade. It's sickening.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 13, 2004

South Lyon High School seems to be a good school because it has overall pretty decent statistics for testing. This however has very little to do with good teaching and quite a bit to do with the fact that the students of SLHS are personally motivated. Nearly 80% of the teachers are complete jokes that offer no help but seem to give up on the children. The 20% that will work with kids after paying hours are the ones that care and the ones whose kids excell. The Zero Tolerence policy is rarely put into action, making the school far from safe. The information given on students per class on this site is far from accurate as most classes have slightly over 30 students. Altogether I would not reccomend SLHS to any parent, unless of course you are only interested in extracurricular activities... at which SLHS excells in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2004

South Lyon School District is not what it is cracked up to be. The enforcement of rules is not consistent and teachers are not compasionate or willing to help a child just recommends tutors for help instead of just trying to help a child. The zero tolerence policy is a big fat JOKE! I know personally and I wouldn't recommend this school district to anyone to come too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2004

We had 3 children go through South Lyon schools. All three of them went on to college (U of M and Kalamazoo College), now 2 have master's degrees. South Lyon High School is an excellent high school and although some of the staff can be difficult to work with like anywhere else, the leadership at the school is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

We have not had a very good experience with school as a family that transferred from another state. My son had to begin his Junior year in the middle of the first term. At a time when one would believe teachers would extend a welcoming hand but he was really out on his own. The conferences are very impersonal and set up like a bull pin. This school does use an e-mail communication system to keep parents informed of their child's progress however it is only as good as the discipline and informmaiton that the teacher's put in. Not all teachers respond to e-mail. As students learn in different ways teachers here seem to be less congnisant of these differences than at other schools. There are some very fine teachers that do care about the children's growth and to them we are grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female51%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female80%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students47%
Female41%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students68%
Female62%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female78%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 69%
African-American 2% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Chad Scaling
Fax number
  • (248) 437-0233

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 North Lafayette St
South Lyon, MI 48178
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 573-8150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Aim High School
Whitmore Lake, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT