Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
South Lyon, MI
Students enrolled: 1,273
 

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

17 reviews of this school


South Lyon High School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school system with caring teachers and lots of opportunity. South Lyon offers many sports, activities and AP classes to round out a full educational experience.

South Lyon High School 2

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
The school system here is illogical and sad. The school is politically incorrect, unfocused, and dirty. I can begin to explain the various reasons My child will no longer attend this school.


South Lyon High School 5

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
My shy, unsure of himself Freshman LOVES this school. He has made several friends, is participating in class, clubs, and functions. He has 1 difficult teacher all year and is learning to deal with that well. We are very pleased with his academic success, and the level of communication generated by his teachers. We have no doubts about his ability to transition into the college atmosphere. Overall, very pleased.

South Lyon High School 4

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
Well above average high school. Offerings of AP classes provide student opportunities to prepare for university study. Both children were accepted to all colleges of choice (including U of Mich). Would have given 5 stars but deletion of AP Spanish in favor of Chinese and no AP Physics this past spring indicates that cracks are forming in administrative/curriculum planning. High marks however are given for flexibility in allowing self-directed Physics class as an AP replacement.

South Lyon High School 5

Posted August 15, 2010
- a parent
Sure South Lyon is a bit out of the way, but that just may be the reason for the great "small town" feel and fantastic teacher/student ratio and wonderful relationships. The teachers and faculty really care!


South Lyon High School 4

Posted December 11, 2008
- a student
2006 Grad. This school has great amenities, but they're only there if you take them. The people complaining about poor teaching- well yeah, you're going to find that anywhere- I've had a few poor teachers there, but what really stands out are the several really wonderful teachers I had. To the parents who had a problem with a bad teacher- the option is always there to switch. The school has plenty of extra curricula's, and compared to some students here at MSU from other high schools, I have realized really how many AP classes and opportunities South Lyon HIgh School OFFERED it's students. A school can provide all the help in the world people- but if your child is unwilling to accept it, it doesn't help! I will say though that the administration there could definitely use some help, but this is when there was only one HS.

South Lyon High School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2008
- a student
This school does have a lot of choices but most of those choices don't have any value, the school consulers are never seen, no one is able to go to them for college help and thier is no time to see them, also, some courses that prepare you for college are not offered here, most of the money from our school goes towards band and football and new lights for the practice field instead of textbooks, we have been using the same physics book since 1995, the school is not a good chioce because their is not much to do, most of the good courses that you need to take you can't until your junior or senoir year and with only 6 hours to choose from that is very limited for students with a lot of intrests, its not that good of a school.

South Lyon High School 3

Posted June 05, 2008
- a student
I attend south lyon schools untill 11 grade. the schools are run down but the teaching is great. there is a lot of swearing in the high schools but that is hard to control. the sports program is amazing too. SLHS is a great school as well as Kent Lake and Centennial Middle School.


South Lyon High School 4

Posted December 12, 2007
- a parent
Great school, great selection of sports and academic classes, great people and teachers. Although sometimes some teachers aren't so great and it is crowded at times.

South Lyon High School
no rating

Posted November 17, 2007
- a parent
Teachers are parents too. So just because some cannot stay after does not make them a bad teacher. Several are award winning teachers and this comment is obviously by someone that has a grudge. My students all passed the AP tests thanks to the teachers there......

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Lyon High School
1000 North Lafayette Street, South Lyon, MI  48178
(248) 573-8150
Last modified South Lyon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Lyon High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top