Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adlai Stevenson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 369 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2013

My son attended Stevenson from 1st to 4th grade. He had a couple of great teachers but some the staff's behavior is very inappropiate. They dont take bullying or harrassment seriously at all. When the parent or the student complains to the principal, she doesnt have time to talk nor does she return phone calls. His last teacher made discouraging comments to the class. Im completely dissappointed in the school, their actions and they way that the district handles things. As a result, I moved from Southfield after residing here for 7 years and sent my child a school in another district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

My son has attended Stevenson since he was 6 years old. I love this school ! Son is meap scores were high on math and reading he is in the 3rd grade and the only concern I have is what Middle school can I find for him when he leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

I am glad there is a new principal at Stevenson. Some of the teachers are creative in helping the children with special needs. That is very much appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The experience has been very good here. We are concerned about the prospects for middle school/jr. high and beyond, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2010

High turnover in principal dept. Cutbacks in staff, not enough attention especially during lunch hour. Unfortunately, just ok for such a great city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Great school -- great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

The 1st to 3rd grade teachers are the best in Michigan. I am very pleased with my daughter's matriculation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My daughter has had a great year at Stevenson Elementary. She is in the first grade, and will be in the second grade Fall 2009. The teachers, and latchkey staff is wonderful, and have shown my daughter the support which she needs. The classwork I feel is great to ensure the students at Stevenson are achieving as much as other students locally, statewide, and nationally. My daughter has also be blessed to have a great teacher - Mrs. Washington. As a working parent, I try as much as possible to volunteer when I can at my daughter's school. I look forward to working with the staff at Stevenson as my daughter advancing through each grade. TPJ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Stevenson Elementary has been the best school experience for my child. I like the teachers, class work, and level of difficulty. I help out when I can and believe all parents should. It gives you the opportunity to see firsthand what goes on in the school. Education is the primary goal of the new principal who is tough but caring. Just to let you know, school ratings are based on all students performances and this school has a very well rounded group of students and parents. It s one of the best overall learning experiences for your child. KBM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I have to say that Stevenson Elementary School is in fact the best school my son has attended. My son is learning disabled and this is the only school that even showed concern and compassion. Before attending this school we tried private schools and everything else and everyone failed him he learned absolutely nothing untill this school. Now my son is reading and doing mathematics and his confidence in doing the work has improved dramatically. Unfortunately due to a job transfer we will be relocating and he will no longer be attending this school. But I would personally like to thank Mrs. Carpenter and Mrs. Martin for all they've done for my son I truly love you guys and Stevenson and it hurts that I have to take him out of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I have a son that attends Stevenson. I am not really happy with the way the boys are treated versus the girls in the school. I feel that some of the teachers show favoritism towards the girls versus the boys and their tolerance while teaching our sons is very low. I think there should be a training course or something that will help teachers with this problem to help them understand boys more and show more tolerance. They must remember that they play a major role in our children's educational success, therefore they should make this a positive experience for them! Sometimes the problem is not the boys but the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

My daughter attended Stevenson. It was a horrible experience for the both of us. The teachers are too interested in the lifestyle and careers of the parents. The staff is irresponsible. My daughter was lost for 3 and 1/2 hours because an administrator forgot to send her to latchkey. I had to go to the superintendent to even get a verbal apology. They have a new principal now, Mrs. Perry. She is a great principal. I hope, she can turn things around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

I have a daughter that went to Stevenson for the 3rd grade. I was very disatisfied because of the administration and staff's unprofessionalism. The security level is also not up to parr. It is a lack of activities, and the school itself is extremely overcrowded. I would consider it one of my worst experience ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

My daughter is in kindergarten at Stevenson. She loves her school. She can read and write at age 5. Her teacher is wonderful and she has met great friends. There is no extracurricular activities at her level that I know of. I do not think that they spend enough time learning about art, music and sports. They meet their art and music teachers once a week and go to gym twice a week;probably because of funding rather than school policy. I am extremely worried about Dr. Hentrel living the school. I have thought about pulling her out of the school for that reason. I really hope that Stevenson will keep the high ranking it has earned these past years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

The Best Elementary in Southfield Right Now! There are some great teachers and staff members at Stevenson. Dr. Hentrel has been a great principle and will be missed. She always cared about the kids and she brought our school up. The kids are changing in attitudes and such, but I think it has a lot to do with what's going on in their homes. Parents should let their child's teachers know if their is a change at home, so they can be better able to deal with their child's misbehaviors. If the parents and teachers work together more for the good of the child, then I think the atmosphere will change and get back to the Stevenson I know a few years ago, just after Dr. Hentrel got there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

Only having since Sept. 2006 to observe, it appears that the academic programs are pretty standard although teaching methods vary from teacher to teacher (for the same grades)....they should be consistent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My grandson attended Stevenson ,his teacher were highly skilled and he excelled academicaly .The curricular was above average.This school is not for ever child because you must be strong academically , emotionally and learn to stay under the radar independent thinking is not allow in addressing issues to the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

I currently have a 2nd grader at Stevenson and he is doing very well in all subjects he continues to make all three honor rolls and he enjoys the activites that the school provides and he looks forward to going to school. I beileve that my child experenece at Stevenson is a good one because I'm very involved with the teachers, staff, principle and the PTA. I believe that what you put into your childs school is what you get back. So I would encourage parents to have an active role in your childs education and know that you have to do extra work with your child outside of the school if you want great results from your child. I'm very happy with Stevenson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I also have a fifth grader at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School. There is always somthing negative my son talks about after school EVERYDAY. It hurts me to leave him everyday at that school,but, unfortunately I cannot move to a new school district as of yet. And I really donnot think that I should have to just so my child love school again. Can anybody out there give me some suggestions? This mom is at her wits end. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

My son enjoys attending school here. This school has really changed for the better. My son has learned a great deal and he is an excellent reader.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 97% 18%
Hispanic 1% 6%
White 1% 69%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sandra Laperriere
Fax number
  • (248) 746-8945

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27777 Lahser Rd
Southfield, MI 48034
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 746-8840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Yeshivas Darchei Torah
Southfield, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT